Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2016
Charles Darwin’s On the Origin Species written in the 1850s presents the theory of natural selection in an attempt to explain the complex relations between animals and plants both existing and extinct. Darwin’s theories are formed based on his voyage on the Beagle expedition, later research and correspondence with experts in various fields.

The starting chapters introduce the theory of natural selection, explaining why certain species thrive, while others decrease in number, how the members of nature are in competition with each other and why organisms tend to vary and change with time. Much of this work is based on experiments and observations seen within domestic animals and plants.

The later chapters defend the theory of natural selection against apparent inconsistencies, why geological records are incomplete, why we find species so widespread and how sterility can be inherited when the organisation is unable to reproduce and more.

The book is approachable for any audience, though the language is naturally dated. Having read the book, one can really appreciate the complex relations in the world and the individuals within it. Though the theory of natural selection is easy to accept, many thought provoking difficulties within the book really make it interesting. Well worth reading.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
You emerge from this marvel of a book thinking it is wrong, always, everywhere, and for anyone, to believe anything upon insufficient evidence. It is a crucial work, and still readable today, and if you retain your 'only the human species is sacred' view when you've read it, then you are deeply prejudiced or conditioned. Crazy religious zealotry cannot survive this reasoned and calm long view of life on earth. Blind faith needs Darwin's reasonable and utterly rational spectacles!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
This is a new printing of the original work by Charles Darwin. It is the book that caused so much furore amongst the people of the early 19th century and lead to outrage in society at the truly revolutionary idea of how species evolve. It is written in the style of the period, and as such is not the easiest read, but it is worth delving into the mind of a true pioneer of modern science.

Much of the book was written following Darwin's exploratory voyages in the South Seas. He observed the various physical differences between animals that he saw on the different islands and this lead him to postulate the idea that the variations might come about because creatures lived in separate environments. He then suggested that the local conditions might lead to the prevalence of certain characteristics. The book contains many descriptions of the variations of the anaimals that he observed and his thoughts on what he saw.

People that have not read this book seem to tend to believe that it contains certain anti-religious statements; in fact, this is far from the truth. However, don't take my word for it; get the book and read it for yourself.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
Although reading and understanding was tough at times, it was worth the struggle. It is shame that the diagram mentioned several times in the book was not included. It made one chapter almost unnecessary to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
A classic of course. From an academic perspective, it is interesting to read this and look at the flaws caused by the limited knowledge at the time of writing. Without knowledge of DNA or genetics in general, there is a lot of guesswork here. But still this is a great book, and a great starting point for someone wanting to learn more about the world of evolution.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
Let me just start by saying, I FINALLY GOT THIS BOOK!

Over the years I have heard bits and bobs of this book. Specifically since year 10. In biology we talk about Darwin and his theory but the short stories that we are told are not very detailed.

I have wanted to buy this book for over 5 years now! I ask myself, WHY HAVENT I GOTTEN IT BEFORE! Its not science fiction, but it certainly is very detailed and entertaining. I loved reading every page of it.

If you are a science student, this book is a very good buy and read! You will be able to link a lot of theory related questions in your exams to bits of this book.

10/10. Very good purchace.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
Probably the biggest scientific idea since Galileo. I bought two copies 30 years ago and gave one to someone I met in the US who was unhappy with the whole idea of evolution. Sadly, I don't know if it was ever read. I think everyone should at least see a copy and wonder at how the ideas (pre-genetics) were formulated to bring us a theory of how species come into being in particular environments.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2016
Always wanted to read this but it's not exactly a page turner....I'm forcing myself!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Studies undertaken under cocaine, hmm, ever met a rationale coke head? Me neither!

will delve when reseatching, bored or it's quoted
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2016
a classic read and one I can't believe I've not got in my library!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)