Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
62
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 1999
Freud's investigations into the question of motivation in our lives form the basis of much of psychopathology today and this book provides a readable introduction to his theories about dreams and what they can tell us about our waking lives. Each chapter has several dreams (including Freud's own) and detailed analyses of them to demonstrate how we are more affected by thoughts and concerns than we like to admit to ourselves. Not only is it an interesting read, but it's quite accessible, the reader doesn't need to be familiar with any of Freud's more complicated concepts in order to be able to understand what he's writing about. His style is thorough and thought-provoking, even if you don't find yourself agreeing with everything he writes. It's easy to criticise his theories without knowing too much about them, so this book provides a welcome introduction.
0Comment| 86 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2001
Freud's seminal work 'The Interpretation of Dreams. This is probably Freud's most popular work and, if we maintain Freud's own logic that what is remembered is most important, it perhaps also his most important work. Freud presents numerous case studies of patient's dreams and takes the reader through his process of interpretation. The work not only suggests how we might interpret dreams themselves but also reveals Freud's fundamental understanding of the structure and functioning of the psyche; the primary processes of condensation, distortion, and representation and figurability as well as secondary revision. These processes not only affect dreams but all memory and experience.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
For anyone interested in how dream psychology came to be, this seems like the perfect place to start your research. And there is, in fact, no denying how much Freud has defined and shaped our understanding of the unconscious, why we dream, or the sexual / psychosexual driving forces behind our behaviours and motivations. However, as we now know today, Freud's theories stand the test of time only to some extent. His over-fixation on sexual impulses was, for example, one of the reasons which led to his infamous feud with Jung, and the truth is that part of his live-long work feels driven more by an obsession than an actual objective, pragmatic research quest. This, along with the way this book is written (a slight part might have to do with the translation, as I remember reading an older version and not being left with the same feeling) has the potential to shy away readers whose sole purpose is a curious look into such fascinating artifacts of the human psyche.

Nevertheless, this is a must read if you intend do broaden and develop your own insights regarding the dreamworld. It is, of course, filled with not-so-scientific, sometimes even highly subjective personal interpretations, but this is obviously a very revealing peak into one of the most fascinating minds in the field of Psychology, even though Freud himself was a neurologist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2006
reading this volume will stir your own dreams, and make them more significant for you - Freud's journey into his own psyche is compelling reading and full of saucy and dark elements that will resonate with any reader who is honest with themselves - a bestseller once it was recognised in its time (in the first year it sold maybe 100 copies), it is strong narrative and Freud succeeds in shaping the book so we start before he recognises that dreams and their interpretation can provide insights into the human personality - a page-turner, and not technical - written early in his career, he had not developed the specialist language of his later writings. He won prizes for literature, and this is one sample of his deftness. highly recommended.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
This is one of the must-read of Freud books. especially, this version because it is very easy, the paper are in semi-yellow and the book is light. you can bring it everywhere.
I received it very soon, sooner than my expectations.
This is a revolutionary book about interpretation of dream. it is very important that the language and terms are chosen in a way that everybody can read it, not just specialist in this field.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2010
I wouldn't dream (pardon the pun) to review Freud's work here, experts are required for this kind of undertaking

this is just to say that before buying this book you should know that according to Jeff Masson (who is a true Freud expert), this translation is not the best. Strachey did not speak fluent German and many times he simply did not understand the words, let alone Freud's ideas in their entire subtlety and complexity.

I would recommend that you look for better, more modern translations (this particular one, the Feb 2010 edition, was done in 1953!)

on a different note, this particular edition is also not great because the print font is very, very small (10 point Garamond in the main print, even smaller in the many, many notes. The spacing is also tiny. Very tiring on the eye). And the book is nowhere near the 4.3 cm thickness claimed by the Amazon description, it is in fact just 3.5 cm.

according to Amazon there is an Interpretation of Dreams to be published in Nov 2010 which has Masson's name on it. Now that should be interesting!
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 January 2012
As other reviewers have pointed out, some of Freud's groundbreaking theories have since been challenged, moderated, even overturned - but that doesn't render this book irrelevant to current readers and students. What is so critical about Freud is that, like Marx, he fundamentally changed the way we think about 'man' and what it means to be human.

Freud's understanding of the unconscious and particularly his work on dreams and the work they do ('dream-work') effectively rendered a person mysterious to themselves, challenging, for example, Descartes' view that the human mind - and, therefore, man him/herself - was completely knowable.

Freud, thus, has a huge impact on the way in which we think about what it means to be human, and the way in which 'humanness' is represented in, for example, art and literature.

For a scientific text this is immensely readable, even playful and mischievous in parts. We may have moved on from a literal application of Freudian theories, but this is still a ground-breaking text in the history of human thought, and one which still has implications for the way in which we think about ourselves, the products of our imaginations, and the way in which we create meaning.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
I am sure this is a very useful book if you are studying Freud or Psychology, but for the lay person it is difficult to read and I have to admit I have given up trying to get through the endless reviews included by other pwople and never got to the actual bit written by Freud!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
The Book was in pristine condition it was cheap to buy and i didn't have to wait too long for it.
I am going back to College and was interested in Freud and his work and this is the 3rd book of his that i had bought from Amazon but this one (as they say) "heavy, man" Couldnt get in to it at all and gave it to my good friend who is doing Psychology at College.
You have to be a good reader and enjoy a heavy read and it would be perfect but not for me, i'm afraid!!
Service from Amazon as good as ever so that was ok and it was a win/win situation!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
I am not a psychology student but i still found this very interesting. i wouldn't recommend this for younger audiences as it is very sexually orientated. apart from that, the book was in brilliant condition and arrived very quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse