Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 18 September 2016
I started off reading A Shropshire Lad, which I found thought provoking. The poems have a rather morose outlook on life, however, I can recognise the Englishness of the scenarios which I very much warmed to. Wanting to explore Houseman further I purchased this book that has the Shropshire Lad poems plus his later works. Whilst I enjoyed reading the poems I felt that they were more of the same. I will re-read them to explore them in more depth, but on first reading I was slightly disappointed that the poems did not appear to explore new territory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2017
Lovely collection of the works of this great man, good service, arrived on time, I am well pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2016
Housman's rhythm and rhyme, coupled with poignant imagery and candid honesty, leads to a book of many earmarked pages. A truly excellent collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2016
Knowing only Housman from the Shropshire Lad, it was good to have some of his other poems and to enjoy these too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2017
This is excellent. Much more than just poems- plenty more interesting information about A.E. Houseman himself

.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2016
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2016
Elegant and comforting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2011
Heart moving and thoughtful collection. I bought this for a friend who writes poetry and wasn't aware of Houseman - shameful! Is he now unfashionable? If so it is a great pity - he conveys sadness and loss in a truly moving way
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2011
I bought this at the same time as 'Monster Quest' and found the Housman far more disturbing. This deceptively simple, carefully crafted poetry has earned its fame by having some of the most memorable couplets outside of Shakespeare; but Housman's 'land of lost content' is not, as it is supposed (and as this icily clever don wished it to be supposed) notalgia for pre 1st war country boy innocence. His tortured frustration and defiant shame goes beyond the normal fears of a homosexual of this era and tips over into loathing. I am never quite sure what he loathes and resents...innocence, heterosexuality, young men who do not suffer as he does, who have hurt him by their rejection?...but the majority of these poems are about blood and the coming death of many now happy 'lads', and something in his fine old silky tone makes me feel that he is glad about it. Read them and feel the sweat drip under the academic gown. Excellent introduction.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse