Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 29 March 2017
I purchased this book for my husband when he was unwell and needed short stories to read. To the best of my knowledge, he enjoyed it.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2013
Rarely do you find a book of short stories why every single one of the stories is an absolute joy to read. Well look no further, this Wordsworth Classic of O. Henry's Short Stories will please the story enthusiast as well as those who, like myself, occasionally like to indulge in the classics.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2015
These stories are now largely forgotten but well worth reading for their gentle humour and irony. This version contains an excellent introduction which helps set them in context.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2017
Just one word to describe this: brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2018
Great classic short stories...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2013
O Henry is my favourite short story author. I downloaded this book to read to my year 7 form. They love the surprise endings.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2004
I bought this book on impulse and it has only dissapointed me in one respect. I skipped the introduction and jumped straight to the stories. I thought I was being clever when I compared it to Runyon's stories of 4 decades later. When I went back to read the introduction, the comparison had made there already. In all other respects I cannot fault the book.
The stories are very short. They are generally gentle, charming stories by someone who obviously had a great sympathy for the people he was describing.
I highly recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2013
O. Henry's writing was intended for adult audiences, but because the stories were published in the newspaper they are quite suitable for middle-school readers. I bought this for my grand-children.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2015
Good condition
A brilliant collection of impressive and interesting stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse