Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 12 January 2013
When i started this book i wondered if it would live up to the more popular classics by Hardy, such as Tess of The D'urbavilles. I am very impressed and it is definitly as good as the others that i have read.

This is one of the most atmospheric books that i have read. the descriptions of the area in which the book is set are incredible as is the story itself.

As is typical of Hardy, this is another tragic tale of loving the wrong person and trying to correct it before it is too late. The chararcters are very believable and i found that i could almost imagine living in what seems like these most romantic of times. The hills,the heather etc...

Overall a brilliant book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2016
Hardy evokes and describes a rural life, so long gone and alien to our modern culture that it remains a delight to be transported back there. No cars, phones, technology...brilliant stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
You have to be a 'Hardy' fan to appreciate his rather archaic writing style. He always manages to take the reader back to a time that has long gone. However, with books such as this one they will never be forgotten.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
My first encounter with this book was more than 50 years ago back in the day when I was studying for my A-levels. I remembered enjoying it then despite the pressures and thought that it was about time to give it another go. I was not disappointed.
There are some great characterisations and beautifully descriptive passages. The storyline is easy to follow but be prepared to be led astray by some hints in the wrong direction. There is a tragic overtone but some comic strands as well and is a good read before turning out the lights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
I like Thomas Hardy and found this just a bit too descriptive at the start but stick with it, it's worth it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2016
Absolutely loved this version because of all the additional and background information and notes on Hardy, the area, the historical and cultural times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Having read all his well known books and some of his lesser known one's this is typically Hardy in story but this is what I enjoy his sudden twists of fate and his moral tales of what can happen in life and the consequences of decisions made in haste or by greed, vengeance, passion , or selfishness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
Interesting getting back to old style writing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Heavy going and mostly sad - not yet quite finished it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
I reluctantly read this book for a Book Club meeting, expecting it, as one of Thomas Hardy's books, to be tedious and it was! It was an interesting look into social conventions of the time, but the story was dull, descriptions of the countryside were overly long and the relationships were not very believable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse