Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2001
It has stuff by Sir Walter Scott, Edgar Allan Poe, Charles Dickens, Robert Louis Stevenson, Oscar Wilde and lots more. The stories take place all over the world. It's something different to your modern horror fiction and for the price it's worth it.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
A reasonable compendium of ghost stories from the era, drawing in some classics from MR James, Oscar Wilde, Walter Scott and Edith Nesbit. Certainly some of these are spine tingling by virtue of the authors, but as a whole it feels like they've been somewhat thrown together such that little gems are offset by much weaker pieces and there is no real coherence across the collection. All the same, as a starting point for exploring this genre and finding which authors appeal, it's not too bad.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2006
There are 26 short spine-tinglers in this collection. At least 3 of them are not actually ghost stories at all and, although they contain not the smallest hint of anything remotely supernatural, they're still morbidly fascinating. There are another couple that are more suggestive of insanity and slight mental aberration than haunting. The rest are genuine, old fashioned ghost stories and some of them are quite disturbing (once modern, sceptical, disbelief has been properly suspended). Oscar Wilde's contribution: "The Canterville Ghost", is, of course, funny rather than frightening. If you are a fan of traditional ghost stories, a lot of the authors sampled here will be familiar names. And you don't even need to be a particular lover of supernatural tales to know the names of contributors such as Sir Walter Scott or Charles Dickens. I thoroughly enjoyed them all - well known and unknown alike. If there had been a little something (preferably "The Willows" or "The Wendigo") by Algernon Blackwood, it would have been a perfectly rounded offering. But even without AB, it's pretty good and I recommend it to anyone who, like me, enjoys a nice, safe chill before bed.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
A number of these stories don't seem to involve ghosts or the supernaturel at all! One example, Mary Ancel? Just a story of betrayal during the French Revolution, NO GHOSTS! The story of a strange bed? A murder story! This book was not the dark winter night, around the fire reading, which i had hoped for! There must be better volumes of collected Ghost Stories out there!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
With the evenings rapidly drawing in, and being a huge fan of ghost stories, I set out with the aim of finding a fresh collection of ghostly tales to read. This book seemed to me to be the perfect answer as, although I recognised several of the titles in this book as classics of the genre (The Tapestried Chamber, The Tell Tale Heart and The Phantom Coach to name but three), there were many more in this collection I had not heard of before. With most Victorian ghost story collections sticking to the same tried and tested authors and stories, it was quite appealing to find a book featuring some "new" ones (to me at least).

Unfortunately, I soon discovered that the reason I hadn't heard of several of these ghost stories is because they are not ghost stories at all. Some would even struggle to be termed "mysterious", and contain nothing at all of the supernatural. That's not to say they're not good stories, but for a book that's entitled Classic Victorian and Edwardian Ghost Stories, it is a little disappointing for several of them to be totally devoid of ghosts in any way, shape or form.

If you're in the market for some miscellaneous Victorian and Edwardian tales of no particular genre, then by all means buy this book. However, if you're looking for good ghost stories, I recommend looking elsewhere.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2010
These are no pallid modern-day ghosts, but the Victorian and Edwardian ideal of what the 'full-blooded' ghost should be. Full of the mustiness of lace curtains, overstuffed furniture and repressed emotions beloved by that age; but ready to burst into - what -? Anti-macassars on the furniture, piano legs descreetly covered by frills & furbelows cannot cover up the raw passions and feelings of revenge. Think yourself back into this age, close the curtains re-position the aspidastra, and - enjoy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2004
a fantastic collection of horror stories written in Victorian and Edwardian times.....those writers really do like gory and macabre stuff...start reading and you won't be able to put this book down....your hair will stand on end, your eyes will get wider and wider, the eyeballs almost popping out of their sockets, heart rate will rise steadily and your brain will be filled with images of ghosts, corpses and mutilated things and copius amounts of blood....kids love this stuff as well!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
I loved this book. Finished it in 4 hours whilst i was on an airplane and will most definitely be reading again. My favourite stories in this book are The Haunted Doll's House, A School Story (both by Montague Rhodes James) and A Ghostly Manifestation (by an anonymous Clergyman)

10/10 would recommend to everyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
This series of affordable paperbacks are great fun.
This volume is a good starting point to delve into the short ghost story genre.
Lots of writers, Victorian gems and Edwardian classics from the ghost story-boom period.
You'll get a feel for writers you like and can pursue them further in books in the set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2016
If you like gas light ghost stories this is the one for you. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse