Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 August 2007
Very easy reading style, but which preserves some of the high Homeric style. The stories have 'glosses' sometimes to help young children understand motivation, and that I particularly liked. I much prefer the writing to 'Black Ships before Troy', which is much more popular, yet very stolid prose. Tales include Iliad, Odyssey, Perseus, Theseus and Jason, etc. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2017
for me it was a really good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2015
This is better for older children - the inside is not as attractive as the cover, not very large print and line drawing illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2013
A condensed, understandable, informative and thoroughly enjoyable read. I would recommend to anyone wishing to obtain a better understanding of greek mythology especially homers epics. Will be enjoyed by all ages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2015
Good buy for mommy to read at bed time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2016
I bought this for a very literate 10 year old, but it is far too advanced. A kiddie cover, but dry as a bone content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2014
o
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2010
This book recounts the tales of the Trojan War and other aspects of Ancient Greece. I found it useful because the editor included explanations of known history to put everything into a proper context. For example, it was explained that the Greeks rode Chariots but not horses. And the siege of Troy did not involve surrounding it and cutting off supplies. This is partly why it took so long.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2011
Though very cheap,and with a quite different front cover from that illustrated by Amazon at the moment, I find this edition preferable to some more expensive papaerback editions because the reproduction of the original Henry Ford illustrations inside the book is far better. Some other editions (eg Dover and Wildhorn Press) have reproduced the pictures from a 1941 reprint rather than the 1907 original, and they are dark and heavy and lose detail. In contrast, the Wordsworth edition, despite its present rather silly front cover (which may actually make it look more approachable to new young readers), reproduces the original illustrations inside the book without losing any of the delicate detail. This is important to me, since I have known the original illustrations since I was aged about 7, and am hoping that children now will still find them as fascinating as I did. At the same time the text, while seeming faithful to the original, is reprinted in a simple, easy modern format, which is all to the good these days. I am in process of buying another copy of this edition to give or lend to children.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse