Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11

on 13 January 2016
I read this on holiday in Lucca, Tuscany, near the home of the author - everything Pinnochio was available. The book was a gambolling riot through the realities of childhood in the time it was written and poor Pinocchio was subjected to many harsh treatments and neglects on his travels. It was very different from the sanitised and diluted Disney version, but the original book really demonstrated how much the adult approach to children has changed over the last three hundred years.
A great read, despite the voice of the narrator not being quite what we expect nowadays, I am always up for reading the original version of stories, just to see how it has been re-written by Disney for a very different audience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2016
If you are thinking about Disney, where Pinocchio is this little sweet boy, just take into account this is the original story written over 100 years ago, book is pack with violence only suitable for older children, my preteen son has enjoyed it, and gets the moral of the story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2013
I've bought a selection of these books to either read to my grandchildren, or, be read to off my grandchildren, depending on their age. I have given it 5 stars & I do highly recommend them got the following reasons. Value for money, at £1.99 it's less than half the price of some comics that don't last long, the packaging & delivery was fantastic, the children love the stories & last but not least, I am enjoying reading them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2018
Great for world book day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2014
of course everybody knows the story and how it ends, but it was a pleasure to re-read after all those years. Some things I forgot but most adventures in the book I recalled immediately after 25 years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2016
Christmas present for my grandchildren who say they like the story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2015
This was bought as a gift and sent overseas, I am told the kids loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2017
Superb children's book. Well written and enjoyed time after time x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2015
people need to read this book, don't rely on Disney
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2015
A lovely book, my grandchildren's favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here