Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 July 2016
This is the Ladybird re-telling of Bram Stoker's classic novel "Dracula". This version of the book is intended for older children (age 9+).

The storyline remains the same, but here the tale is simplified and shortened. The book presents several colour illustrations, and these certainly does add to the narrative, as the art usefully depicts the most important aspects of the story.

For anyone interested in taking a first, tentative step towards understanding the plot of 'Dracula' then this is a useful book. It was originally published in the mid-1980's. At the time, I purchased the companion Ladybird book Frankenstein (Ladybird horror classics). It's only more recently that I acquired a copy of 'Dracula'. I recommend both.

This is a wonderful horror classic!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
It was one of the most absorbing books I've read for years. So well written. It really draws you into the story and the characters. Not a scary vampire story that you can see on film or television, this book is more sophisticated than that. It's a " ripping yarn". Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 October 2016
This has to be one of those books that you read if the subject is of interest to you. The English is more of an older English, which can be expected. The book is both informative, interesting and well written. 5 Stars for which I class of a masterclass great...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
If ever a novel needed editing...this is it. Brave souls - all those who turned this tedious account into exciting material. When you pare it down to its essence....there may indeed be something worthwhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
To start off with this book is a classic and is a fantastic read and i enjoyed it immensely i never put it down only when i slept. ;)

Tried reading the original pocket version but the text was way too small and gave me headaches so out of curiosity looked for a large print version and wallah there it was with clear large readable text making you get through the book in no time. I recommend this to anyone who loves reading classics. ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Many times I have seen the films but never read Bram Stokers version. I just could not put the book down. Such a wonderful read I recommend it to all who enjoy a really brilliant story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Wanted this particular edition because I read it many years ago.
The story speaks for itself, a great classic read of English literature, much better than watching any film of the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2017
Really enjoyable version of this classic novel. Clear speech and decent sounds effects. I particularly liked the Count's voice in this production - recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
Anyone who enjoys vampire stories should read this book. This is where it all began and although the terminology is a bit dated (1890s) the overall story is superbly written, taken from the journals of main character Jonathan Harker.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
The book is brilliant. Very well written and very atmospheric. Everything I would have expected from a classic novel. You can just feel Jonathan Harkers silent fear and his subtle strength. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves the supernatural.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse