Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 July 2016
This is the Ladybird re-telling of Bram Stoker's classic novel "Dracula". This version of the book is intended for older children (age 9+).

The storyline remains the same, but here the tale is simplified and shortened. The book presents several colour illustrations, and these certainly does add to the narrative, as the art usefully depicts the most important aspects of the story.

For anyone interested in taking a first, tentative step towards understanding the plot of 'Dracula' then this is a useful book. It was originally published in the mid-1980's. At the time, I purchased the companion Ladybird book Frankenstein (Ladybird horror classics). It's only more recently that I acquired a copy of 'Dracula'. I recommend both.

This is a wonderful horror classic!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 December 2014
This is a nice edition of Stoker's classic Dracula. If you haven't read the book before, then do immediately! Unlike the hoary old films, this is genuinely creepy, dark and gripping, and we can still easily imagine the shock it must have given its original Victorian audience.

Stoker takes the time to let his story breathe, and rather than telling it via an omniscient narrator, lets it unravel itself via the journals, letters and notebooks of an array of characters whose relationships change through the book.

This isn't an academic edition but does have some brief end-notes drawing attention to the Irish and sexual subtexts to the narrative. All the same, it's easy to forget the more literary intentions of the book and to read it as a brilliantly gripping horror story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 December 2014
As Amazon often mix up reviews for editions, this is for the unabridged audio-book featuring Alan Cumming and Tim Curry.

This won various awards in 2013 and it's easy to see why: even as someone who has read the book a couple of times, this audio book brought the story to life again and made it feel fresh.

Each character is voiced by an actor, and all of them perform excellently: from the beautiful and chaste Lucy, to the stronger Mina, and flamboyant yet grave vampire-hunter, Van Helsing.

Stoker keeps it all realistic by setting his story against a background of Victorian technological progress: people use phonographs and typewriters, there are blood transfusions and more enlightened ways of dealing with 'lunatics'., and so the dark mythology of Dracula becomes even creepier.

An excellent performance of Dracula that is true to the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
It was one of the most absorbing books I've read for years. So well written. It really draws you into the story and the characters. Not a scary vampire story that you can see on film or television, this book is more sophisticated than that. It's a " ripping yarn". Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This has to be one of those books that you read if the subject is of interest to you. The English is more of an older English, which can be expected. The book is both informative, interesting and well written. 5 Stars for which I class of a masterclass great...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
Seemed a good idea to re-read this- it's been a long time, and I was visiting Transylvania! Gripping story, that builds to its dramatic finish. All of the elements are there- garlic, wolves, bats, aversion sunlight and just a touch of lust.This is the original Victorian story that spawned an entire 21st Century genre that shows no signs of abating. I completed the book after lunch at Dracula's Castle Hotel- a bite to remember!
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
Not quite what I expected from the various Dracula versions told in movies and later vampire stories. This original was well planned with many of the vampire traits that have since been accepted as true. I did enjoy how this story is less about the monsters and more about the human emotions and relationships between the main characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
If ever a novel needed editing...this is it. Brave souls - all those who turned this tedious account into exciting material. When you pare it down to its essence....there may indeed be something worthwhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
To start off with this book is a classic and is a fantastic read and i enjoyed it immensely i never put it down only when i slept. ;)

Tried reading the original pocket version but the text was way too small and gave me headaches so out of curiosity looked for a large print version and wallah there it was with clear large readable text making you get through the book in no time. I recommend this to anyone who loves reading classics. ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Many times I have seen the films but never read Bram Stokers version. I just could not put the book down. Such a wonderful read I recommend it to all who enjoy a really brilliant story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse