Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2016
A story that has elements of humour and romance, but is , fundamentally a savage plea for the rights of women in 19th century England. The heroine longs to have her ambitions for education and self-determination to be recognised but finds, even when forced to accept her position as a mere chattel of her male relatives, she cannot find a life that is free of insufferable pressure to conform to the whims of a judgemental society in which equality is an alien concept.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
When you are tired, tired of the struggles of everyday life, tired of the pressures, the conformity, the is-ness of whatever your personal prison or prism is, then find some space, retreat to a comfortable spot to sit in, be it a cosy armchair or just a rug on the floor and read 'The Mill on the Floss', it will carry you away to a distant time and place and you will be carried away. Oh, and by the way, in case you were not aware of it - George Eliot was a woman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 June 2012
This really is a masterpiece of literary work and is worth wading through some of the rather obscure language and dialect to read.

Maggie and Tom Tulliver are the son and daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Tulliver who own Dorlcote Mill. It should have been a happiness to them all as they lived in relative comfort but sadly, Mr. Tulliver had a disastrous habit of going to litigation and thus rendered himself bankrupt. On hearing that his arch rival to whom he had lost the last court case (Wakem) had bought the Mill, he pulled him off his horse and nearly whipped him to death, saved only by Maggie pulling her Father off him. After this Mr. Tulliver was taken very ill and nearly died. Then to add to their indignity further the Bailliffs were sent in to recover debts that Mr. Tulliver had accrued over the years by going to law. Poor Mrs. Tulliver having to watch the Bailliffs come in and seize her furniture and other sundry belongings to pay their creditors was mortified as were her rather stuck up sistes. Wakem relented enough to take Mr. Tulliver back on as his Manager when he was well again but it rankled with the older man who got Tom to swear on the bible that he would see Wakem 'brought down'.

Maggie had long ago, when Tom and she were at school with Wakem's son, Phillip (a hunchbacked lad), formed an attachment with him which as they both grew towards adulthood became something more. She and he were content with this but her Brother made her swear on the Bible that she would never marry him or be friends with him so long as their Father was still living and loving her Brother, she so swore. However, Maggie and Phillip meet in secret and this is soon found out so Maggie is sent away. Tom also swore that he would work and work until one day he could afford to re-buy the Mill once more so as to keep it once again in the family name of Tulliver.

Enter Lucy a sweet, pretty yet kind hearted little thing who is more or less engaged to Stephen. She is horrified to learn that Maggie has been carrying out menial work so sends for her so she can stay with the Deanes for a holiday. Once more though fate intervenes for Maggie as she and Stephen fall in love almost immediately and this is where the story becomes really interesting. Obviously to say anymore would be a huge spoiler but things go from bad to worse but eventually Tom and his beloved Magsie are reconciled forever.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
I had been wondering about reading the Mill on the Floss for ages and I am glad that I did. It is a beautiful example of Nineteenth Century Literature. The story follows the fate of the Tulliver family who own the Mill and in particular the children Tom and Maggie. Tom the son and heir is seen as the future of the family and his father has high hopes for him. Maggie although apple of her father’s eye, is an emotional and wilful child who has unruly hair and unladylike brownish skin whose future is much less certain. Bright and with a thirst for education her progress is hobbled by the fact that she is female. The story becomes centred in her struggle for happiness and love in an age where she is bound by honour and duty to accede to family loyalties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
I have read and enjoyed Eliot,s work before but with this novel I found it too lengthy, I would have to reread many pages as by the time I got to the bottom I had some how lost the thread. She is marvellous at descriptions and her characters particulary the sisters are so well observed and well drawn. It is such a humerous book at times and full of pathos at others. I will be reading more George Eliot.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
A feast of fiction for the true connoisseur, the River Floss takes the reader on a journey of highs and deepest lows as it turns the millwheel of life set against Dorlcote Mill. The river and mill are metaphors for life which any reader with emotion will recognise. Highly recommended for those who relish a sweeping real life drama garnished with a poetic description that any Romantic would welcome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
I am convinced I have already reviewed this! I read it because it is a classic - I persevered because it is a classic - but I can't say I loved it. My fault, no doubt.

I'm sorry I didn't read it at school, as reading it in a group, or with a good teacher, would probably highlight nuances that sitting reading on a series of commuter trains, one eye out for my approaching stop, didn't
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This made me cry, smile, and aware how important it is for us to be just and equitable in our dealing with others. It also made me aware of how difficult it was for women prior to political emancipation (not that we are completely free now).

Rebellious and affectionate, Maggie Tulliver is always in trouble. Recalling her own experiences as a girl, George Eliot describes Maggie's turbulent childhood with a sympathetic engagement that makes the early chapters of The Mill on the Floss among the most immediately attractive she ever wrote.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
A compelling story of a brother and sister. Brilliant descriptive writing that brings the characters to life. Well worth the perseverance required.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
Without doubt the most compelling book I have ever read. The story was moving,the end reduced me to tears. I have read all George Eliot 's books but this one ,in my opinion, is the best. The characters are so real,the story so simple, yet the situations described are as relevant today as they were in her time. What an excellent read... Can't wait to read it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse