Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2017
I found the first 3 or 4 chapters hard to get into - but as I progressed beyond this, the genius of Hugo shines through.The plot and key characters open up - the grotesque, the beautiful, the flawed and pure souls. At points - Hugo delves into immense detail such as his description the city of Paris but no one can write the way Hugo does and can be forgiven for this.
Overall. A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
The story is good, but this version is full of typographical errors.
It looks as though the text was scanned in from a hard copy, but never checked. On most pages you'll find a mix up between 'h' and 'b' or 'i' and 'l'. Early on in the book, there's a random '58' which I assume is where they accidentally scanned in a page number. Some of the chapter headlines are confused with the opening sentences, and although this story has 11 parts, only the first 9 are listed and accessible via the contents. I guess they just gave up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
This is a slow burner, particularly if you are like me and get bored of endless description. Believe me though when i say that once you get past 35% you will be engrossed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2016
Had to read (skim) in English as well as French. Much too much information about cathedrals and buildings, unless you know them. Interesting personalities and plot when it emerged. But couldn't persuade myself to finish. Have no idea why it is so well known, except it is an enormously long tome.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
I was loving this book till the copy I got 49 pages miss placed. It stopped at page 22 and jumped to page 359 it carried onto page 406 until going to page 71 and then continues the story. From reviews this seems that this is a one off and none of the other books I've bought from this company have this mistake in it. But make what you will, however it is a good edition in my opinion, despite the missing pages.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Very interesting from beginning holds your interest right through. Can't wait to read the rest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
It was ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Loved it! Only 4 stars due to the sometimes long winded detailed descriptions of the architecture which becomes quite dull, otherwise beautiful tragic story,undoubtedly a classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Perfect version to share with my class of 9 and 10 year olds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
I love the man as much as Flaubert but for very different reasons. With any other author, you'd say it was badly in need of editing, but Hugo's digressions are so established now in the history of literature, you just have to excuse them and enjoy. If you don't, then you can also write off Sterne, Rabelais and Cervantes if you want to make a complete fool of yourself. Skip the minute descriptions of Notre Dame and the architecture of Paris if you must, but remember the original title is Notre Dame de Paris, so that's what it's about, not Quasimodo or Esmeralda. But if you want narrative, it's there. If you want characters to cry for, to die for, there they are. Too many coincidences, too sentimental, but he knew his readership. And never mind about the endless succession of fancy names in the brilliant extended introductory scene, ending with Quasimodo being crowned king of the beggars: just go with the flow. If your copy has annotations, forget them; they'll only get in the way. Oh, and the presumably 19c translation in the Kindle edition is splendid.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse