Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Young Fanny Price comes to live with her wealthy aunt and uncle, Sir Thomas and Lady Bertram, at Mansfield Park in the county of Northampton. Fanny is a timid and shy young girl from a much poorer branch of the family (her mother having married beneath her) and she is left under no illusion from her other aunt, Mrs Norris, that she is very lucky to be taken into the Bertram's household. At Mansfield Park, Fanny comes into the orbit of the privileged Bertram children: Tom, the eldest, who becomes a drinker and gambler; the two girls, Maria and Julia, who are shallow and vain and indifferent to Fanny's feelings; and it is only the younger son, Edmund, who shows Fanny any real kindness and affection. As Fanny reaches young adulthood, her liking for Edmund develops into something stronger, but with the arrival into the neighbourhood of the very attractive Crawford siblings, Henry and Mary, everything seems to change, especially when Fanny begins to realise that Edmund is rather smitten with the beautiful and sparkling Mary. And then Henry starts to pay special attention to Fanny - but is he serious? And are Henry and Mary quite as charming as they initially seem?

As a heroine, Fanny Price may appear a little too moralistic and virtuous for some modern day readers to be able to identify with well, but her aunt, the dreadful Mrs Norris, who makes it her life's mission to make Fanny feel inferior, is a very convincing character whose behaviour towards her niece will soon have the reader sympathising with poor Fanny and hoping that she will finally be rewarded with the suitor she deserves. I first read this book when I was about twelve years old and have read it on more than one occasion since - however for this most recent re-reading experience I decided to opt for the Kindle Whispersync for Voice combination which means that you can download this Kindle Version: Mansfield Park free of charge and then download this Audible download version: Mansfield Park (narrated by Frances Barber) for less than three pounds (at the time of writing), alternatively you can download this Audible audio version: Mansfield Park (narrated by Juliet Stevenson) for less than three pounds also. Either way, you'll save quite a lot of money and will have the benefit of switching between the Kindle and the audio version wherever you happen to be, without ever losing your place. Highly Recommended.

5 Stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2015
This is a delightful "Coffee Table Book", its really large and has all of Austen's popular reads within it. Print is quite small but its charm is a wonder. The illustrations are extremely well done and really flow with the atmosphere and time of the stories within. Bookmarker and gilt edging make this a true classic to own and enjoy, perfect as a gift or just to own all of Austens novels in one volume which is quite a unique way of owning them. Because of the size of the book I feel its more of a "pick up and flick through" type of thing (hence the Coffee Table Book remark) rather than sitting and reading them from start of finish just as I feel it would be a little uncomfortable to hold at such large size, however, its not an impossible feat! So I am sure others have and will give it a go! Just beautiful book and am pleased to own it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Fanny Price is adopted by her rich Aunt and brought up with her cousins as the poor relation. Obviously Fanny falls madly in love with her cousin Edmund after living with the family for 9 years (she's now 17 ish?). Enter local vicar's sister and brother in-law, sister falls for Edmund and brother falls for Fanny. There's the usual love triangles, will they won't they, misunderstandings, a big scandal and they all live happily ever after.

This is a long book, there are a lot of conversations which, although interesting and useful for character exploration, could probably be removed. Is that sacrilege? I also didn't like Fanny and Edmund, and most of the other characters (apart from Aunt Bertram, I found her quite amusing in that she couldn't do anything). The only thing Fanny stuck to throughout the entire novel was her dislike of Henry and Mary Crawford.

I think you have to like the lead characters in a novel, otherwise you don't care enough to read 560 pages (even though I did read them all). Jane Austen's prose is still delightful, her characters are amusing even if they are a bit weak-willed and rubbish humans. I still love her ability to write conversations in such a way that you can see the thought processes of the character, see them being manipulated (it seems everyone in 19th century England were master manipulators) until they eventually decide the exact opposite of what they just thought.

This is my least favourite Austen novels so far (it doesn't compare to S&S and P&P) but I can see her characterisation becoming even more skilled and diverse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
Out of all Jane Austen's novels Mansfield Park is perhaps the most historical in its references to the slave trade and Sir Thomas's sugar plantation in the West Indies. It also provides a variety of views of the society at that time; one view being the wealthy upper class Bertram family, another from the perspective of Fanny Price their poor relation from Portsmouth, and the third from the modern middle class Crawfords of London.
From the moment Fanny arrives to live at Mansfield Park all the Bertram family except Edmund make it very clear that they think her inferior because of her lack of wealth and education. As the years pass and her education surpasses that of her indulged cousins Maria and Julia nothing changes, and when the lively Henry and Mary Crawford come to visit they are made to feel more welcome than Fanny ever is.
Immediately the Crawfords set about attaching themselves to the Bertram family with Mary setting her sights on Edmund rather than the drunken playboy heir Tom, and Henry waists no time in flirting with the already engaged Maria. While the family seem bewitched by the Crawfords Fanny appears to be the only one to see their scheming behaviour, however even she becomes entangled in their web when Henry appears to fall in love with her and asks for her hand in marriage. She refuses based on his poor character and also because she loves Edmund, and this puts her in less favour with her uncle than before. Eventually the canker of the Crawfords is seen by all and Fanny is vindicated, and those who deserve what they get are rewarded by their fate. A lovely edition of a great classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
Most of Austen's fans usually put this novel at the bottom of the pile thinking it boring and dreary and not worthy in comparison to her lighter, wittier novels full of beautiful heroines and dashing heroes. Not so!! This for me is one of my absolute favorites. Fanny Price is not a sweetheart, nor is she socially acceptable or graceful or accomplished in any of the required elements pertaining to that era. What she is, is resolute, determined and above all, willing to be the subservient companion to Lady Bertram and her pampered offspring. Here you have a young lady who is thrust into the midst of this family through no fault or choice of her own despite the fact she is actually a blood relative, destined to be at their beck and call for whatever tasks they throw her way and then, to be grateful for the privilege! I feel Mansfield Park is Ms Austen's masterpiece and she has created the perfect heroine for me, a strong, resilient and frankly, quite wise young lady who manages to shine above all her contempories despite her position and who, in the end, actually gets her man!! Now that's what I call a leading lady!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
Though Mansfield Park is far from being my favourite novel by Jane Austen, I've really enjoyed rereading it, as I simply love this authoress. The edition by Oxford World's Classics, is as always, really good. It is full of information about the author, the moment when the novel was written, the novel itself. It offers, also as always, a chronology of the author and about the version they have chosen when there is more than one. Every time I want a classic, first I check if there is a version by Oxford World's Classics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
This review is not about Jane's words, after all who am I, a mere mortal, I could not offer criticism of this ladies work, but the book it self very well produced with a brief indexing, a heavy tome indeed with a good size print and a quality item at a very reasonable price supplied with a quick delivery. This is a book that will take some time to digest the contents, or if you want to take the effortless and express way out you could always buy the BBC D V D,s, although they are never as complete nor in quite the same language as the novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
About 50 years ago I studied Jane Austen's Persuasion for English Literature O Level but could not get really very interested in it but I felt that as these books are classics I should really try again and this time I found them absolutely fascinating reading. I am intrigued by the way of life in what is now a bygone era. The etiquette surrounding not only everyday life but the way romances were conducted is so alien to today's society that it makes for the kind of reading where once you have started a book you have great difficulty putting it down until you reach the end. I realize the writing is a bit old fashioned but you find yourself totally absorbed in the web of intrigue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
All the books together. A complete joy. Perfect prose, delicious humour and great insight into characters. Plus adventure and a window into a distant part of our history. Plus they are so beautifully written they are easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Jane Austen is so much a product of her time, but the great thing is that she sees clearly and with a quite cutting wit describes the preoccupations of the more leisured classes in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. Through her more perceptive heroines, we see the hypocrisy and scheming typical of many. Fortunately, many scenes are as amusing as they are annoying or exasperating. Austen is a masterful writer who anyone can appreciate and admire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse