Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 26 October 2012
Of the two student editions available on Kindle, the Oxford World's Classics edition is the better printed having no misprints/typos; unlike the rival Penguin Classics edition which is quite careless in this respect, (like a lot of other Penguin Classics.) However, be warned that the Oxford edition does not have the advantage of the usual Kindle Interlink which would take you to the end notes and back to the text quickly. Instead, the reader will have to bookmark the notes at the end of the book. If Amazon could correct this flaw, the Oxford edition would be a winner in the e-book market for the serious student, as it has a good introduction, bibliography,and a reliable text based on the standard edition. And the notes, when you get to them, are excellent, especially since they include translations of dialect speech.

P.S. As the above review makes clear, Amazon (!), I was discussing the Penguin and OWC editions of the novel. As usual Amazon fail to discriminate which edition is under review. I have now purchased the Norton International edition on kindle annd would like to request that more Norton Critical editions be made available on kindle. The current selection available is an odd mixture of well known and obscure titles. More Jane Austen and Henry James would be welcome, for example. This edition of Wuthering Heights has everything a student could want, with the kindle bonus of a selection of typefaces and print sizes. A pity the editor is from 'Wasington' according to the title page.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
There wasn't as much romance as I thought there would be, but that doesn't mean it was a fantastic book. The characters are wonderfully flawed! Cathy (Earnshaw/Linton) is a selfish young girl who loves Heathcliff with a furious passion, yet marries Edgar Linton because he is safe and secure. Despite choosing Linton, she still is furiously jealous of her sister-in-law, Isabella, who seems to love Heathcliff. Heathcliff himself is probably, and rather strangely, the character I felt most sympathetic towards. He was brought up to be a gentleman but when his foster father dies, his foster brother treats him as if he were a devil, separating him from Cathy. People, even Cathy, begin to treat him like dirt, so of course he wants revenge on them all. Yet even though he is full of hatred, he still manages to love the selfish and undeserving Cathy. Linton is a very flawed character; noble, kind, yet has no warm blood in his body, cries pathetically, and has no back bone. He judges Heathcliff for no reason but of his appearance, and marries Cathy knowing she loves Heathcliff.

But by far the best character is Nelly (Ellen). She's not biased in her story telling: she disliked Cathy for her selfishness and how she treated Heathcliff and Linton. I loved this because you would have expected her to like Cathy, somehow.

Well, there are enough reviews for you to see this book is good. I just added my to the pile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 February 2014
Surely everybody knows the story to Brontë's Wuthering Heights, have at some point become aware of the ferocious Heathcliff and the stubborn Cathy. What you'll find here isn't a retelling, but a wonderfully accessible edition of one of the great classics in English Literature. The story itself is timeless, atmospheric, creepy and at times shocking enough to effect the most modern of readers. Accompanied with a biography of the author, a timeline of events pertaining to the story and initial publication of it and also enough footnotes to keep you informed, this is a very comprehensive and well rounded edition of a marvellous classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2009
There are probably all sorts of misconceptions about this book by those who've never read it - certainly I had a preconceived idea which bore no relation at all to the reality. The story of Catherine and Heathcliff is generally thought of as one of the great love stories and, though it is, it is a very dark and twisted love - Romeo and Juliet this ain't!
Their love is wild, fevered, uncontrollable, possibly unconsumated and utterly doomed, and as characters they pretty dispicable - jealous, selfish, manipulative and, in Heathcliff's case, violent, abusive and extraordinarily vindictive. When Gordon Brown was asked which literary character he most resembled, he cited Heathcliff. He obviously hadn't read the bits where Heathcliff physically and mentally abuses children and women and, at one point, stamps on another man's head! The setting is bleak, Gothic and otherworldly, with none of the cosiness of Pride and Prejudice or the sweet, God-fearing goodness of Jane Eyre.
There are problems with the novel - it has a non-linear structure which, while groundbreaking, is at times hard to follow, and it seems almost as if, towards the end, Emily Bronte is getting bored of the whole business. But although flawed, it is nevertheless breathtakingly, dementedly brilliant, and not quite like anything else.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
This book came very quickly, and I am enjoying it very much. It's an interesting read and I would recommend, especially for the price!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
I have read this classic in hardback & paperback & decided to get it in Kindle. I am glad I did - it is one of the greatest novels in world literature. I have only given it 4 stars as a note of caution : the few illustrations are not at all clear & all except one were of red indians hunting buffalo - unless my eyes are playing up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
Bronte's story gets 5 stars from me, but I've only given 4 because I purchased a cheap copy a while back and, despite having tiny font and awfully cheap paper, it did have extensive footnotes. While the quality of the novel is fab, the lack of footnotes is a little bit disappointing for a Penguin classic, especially as this is frequently used as the student edition of Wuthering Heights. I love the story itself and if you're looking for a basic paperback copy, this will do fine!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2016
Have always enjoyed this story. Enjoyed the hard backed version and with the included fabric 'bookmark' which goes down the spine of the book so that you can mark where you are up to without having to find a separate bookmark. Used this book for study at A Level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
A brilliant tale and well written. This period drama will have you gripped until the last page. I enjoyed every page and the characters Bronte so brilliantly created. Her narrative is in a league of its own and one that every keen reader should experience. This is a bench mark novel and one that is rarely equalled. I have been inspired to write my own fictional tale on reading this novel.
W.M.Aslam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Good book, but unfortunately it doesn't have page numbers which is odd, and not very useful, as I bought it for my daughter's A-level studies, and she cannot make notes with reference to page numbers, so I will now have to buy another edition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse