Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Exclusive playlist - Elton John Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
762
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2003
This is one of the best written books I've ever read. The characters are very well built and the plot captivates you from the start. The story begins through the eyes of a tenant that is told the story behind Catherine. As the book begins you're not sure who is Cathy or exactly how many of them are. But as the plot unfolds you are thrown into the middle of an entrancing love and hate story between Catherine and Heathcliff and how this relationship affects all that surrond them. It is not the common love story. One of the best things about this book is that you can't have a single feeling about a character. You can't just hate them or love them. They aren't characters they are real people. The book is even better when you think about the time it was written in. Makes you feel sorry that Emily Bronte only wrote this work of fiction.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2000
If you, like me, have time on your hands, click to see all the customer reviews and not just the ones displayed automatically. Practically all the British readers love it, and practically all the Americans think it 'sucks'. What better recommendation could you hope for? Read it, it's fantastic. Gloomy, passionate, scary, atmospheric, nightmarish, ambiguous and almost impossibly cleverly plotted - I had to read it eight years ago for school and after being given the book to start, I arrived at school the next morning grumpy, bleary-eyed and exhausted because I couldn't put it down and finished it at four in the morning. And half my mates had done the same.
OK, so all the characters seem to share about three names between the lot of them, and you'll have to skip anything that Joseph says because it's untelligible Yorkshire madness, and almost everyone in the entire novel is startlingly unpleasant. But it still made me weep buckets even in my most cynical and hard-to-impress teenage phase. Give it a go. And I don't care if Heathcliff is a monster...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2005
wuthering heights is one of the best books ive ever had the privilage of reading. from the very beginning the brooding moors and the demonic behaviour of the characters enthrals. the love of Catherine Earnshaw- daughter of the owner of wuthering heights, and Heathcliff the strange foundling gypsie adopted by the family. after the death of Catherines father, heathcliff is bullied and humiliated by Catherines brother Hindly. believing Catherine doesn't love him, he leaveswuthering Heights, only to return years later as a gentleman, fixated on getting revenge for his childhood and determined to rekindle the love he shared with Catherine.
the story is great, the plot is entralling, the characters are amazing!!!! READ THIS BOOK. its one of those stories that will never die. a true classic]#
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2006
Samuel West (the narrator) and Prunella Scales (Nelly + impersonates all the other characters, male and female) read beautifully. Ms Scales shows she can travel quite a large spectrum as an actress, from cool-headed Nelly to passionate, impulsive Catherine, and bitter, gruffy and cynical Heathcliff. Her rendering of grumpy Joseph's mouthing of Yorkshire dialect is also quite a success.

Listened to this audio-book while in bed with a bad cold and a hefty headache: had a wonderful time!

Only drawback: book has been abridged to fit into 5 hours 1/2 of reading.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Wuthering Heights is a surprisingly modern novel given that its authorship predates our modern understanding of psychology. Like many modern novels, Ms. Bronte has also explored the darker side of human passions and psyches more thoroughly than the sunnier side. Heathcliff will remind you of classic characters whose lives were twisted by fate like Captain Ahab in Moby Dick, Erik in Phantom of the Opera, Quasimodo in The Hunchback of Notre-Dame, and the mysterious prisoner in The Man in the Iron Mask.

If there were ever two star-crossed lovers who have captured the world's imagination since Romeo and Juliet, they must be Catherine and Heathcliff. Yet, unlike, many such pairs, their unhappiness is heavily influenced by themselves.

As you contemplate their story, you are constantly drawn to the thought, "what if" thus and such had occurred differently? That's part of the great power of the story because it has so many unexpected twistings and turnings. A reader's expectations from a love story are turned upside down, sideways and diagonal from where those expectations normally rest. As a result, you'll probably decide this isn't a love story after all . . . but a tragedy. Taken from that perspective, you'll find yourself hearing echoes of Lady Macbeth and King Lear as you contemplate what occurs when the natural order is disturbed. Few English authors since Shakespeare have captured that sense of what can happen when the universe is disarranged.

What's great about this story? It's pretty simple: Emotional intensity in the writing; deeply memorable characters; doomed lovers; and a haunting glimpse at unshakeable obsession.

What's not so great? The story development itself is pretty awkward. Much of the story is told in flashback which steals power and immediacy from the narration. If ever a story cried out for being told in the first person (by Heathcliff, Catherine, Edgar Linton, Hareton and young Catherine), it's Wuthering Heights. The transitions from one key moment to another are often very abrupt. Sometimes it is 150 pages later before you get the full sense of what Emily Bronte meant to convey in some of those transitions.

What's less than great? The characters aren't nearly as appealing as those you'll usually find in a novel dealing with these issues. In that sense, the novel is more realistic than fictional . . . which helps create some of its immense power. It's probably a worthwhile price to pay.

Whatever you think of Wuthering Heights, you owe it to yourself to read one of the most moving tales that has ever been written. Pick a time when you're feeling reasonably happy to start the book. Otherwise, you may find your mood to be more than a little darkened for a few days.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2009
Before I proceed to the actual review, I have to underline three significant parameters that have influenced it: one, I am a great fan of realism; two, I am not such a great fan of old English literature, perhaps as a consequence to fact number one; and three, I pay more attention to technique than to language. So, if you disagree with any of the above, this may not be the review for you.

Now, to the point. I could not give the book anything less than three stars, because a) I have read far worse novels and b)I do have a certain respect for anything that is being considered 'a classic' (and classic does not necessarily mean earth-shaking).

As many people have mentioned, Emily Bronte is good with language. If for anything else, you will enjoy her descriptions; they are so vivid, I could actually walk through the moors, in and out the rooms I could go.

But this is as fas as it went for me. I truly felt some of the time dedicated to landscapes should have been instead given to characterisation, especially since this is clearly a character-driven narrative. We know that the story is about Catherine and Heathcliff's tumultuous relationship, yet I never saw the reasons for why it was so. I would have truly appreciated a few scenes of character exposition, long before Catherine ends up wounded in the Linton house. It felt as if the sentiments were there because the author said so, than as a natural development of plot and character interrelations. There are scenes of immense emotional explosions between them two, yet I just can't see the tension being built up, merely indicated. None of my emotions went underneath the surface, I'm afraid.

I also found it very difficult to identify with either of them. It was difficult for me to understand Catherine's exasperation against Heathcliff, since her passion for him is not visible until his return- she does choose to marry someone closer to her social circumstances, without any inner struggles (her confession to Nelly seems more as if she is looking for reassurance in order to overcome her guilt). Heathcliff, on the other hand, initially the wronged hero, is developed to become the dark antagonist seeking his own catharsis, yet he is so persistently inhuman and evil, that not only you can't understand him, but you can't understand Catherine's passion for him either. There was an incident, a word, a gesture missing from the picture; something that have bonded untamed (and selfish) Catherine to dark Heathcliff.

I understand, and frankly appreciate Bronte for her intention to commend on the ethos of the time; however, her characters remained mere strangers to me until the end of the book. I failed to accept their thoughts or experience their feelings, and so the story became something I witnessed from a distance.

I can't say read it or not. It is not the ultimate torture (although this also depends on age, tastes and gender), but it's not the sort of 'Les Miserables' classic either.

I'm glad Bronte wrote it though. After all, it did inspire Kate Bush to offer us a fantastic ballad.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2003
This is my favourite novel of all time and deservedly so. This novel is all encompassing and will touch the very depths of your soul. If it fails to make an impression you must either be dead or you are reading the wrong story. I don't care if you've seen any of the exceedingly poor tv remakes, hacked to death adaptations, you simply have to read this novel!! It is dark, gothic, sinister, funny and incredibly touching by turns. Heathcliff is amazing, a catalyst a force of nature wild as the moors themselves, but make your owm mind up about it. True,there is much cruelty in the novel but i don,t think you could call this a depressing read, it is more inspiring than that. Neither is this just another love story, although the treatment of love and the fine line it treads with more darker and consuming passions is probably the main element to the story. If you've ever loved, or never loved, READ IT! You'll be torn apart, shaken and you'll LOVE it!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This review is taken from my blog where I review adult colouring books from a mental health perspective. More images can be found here - colouringinthemidstofmadness.wordpress.com
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This book is 25cm square, the same size as most bestsellers, paperback with a thick but flexible card cover which has a wallpaper style design printed on the inside of the dust flaps. The spine is glue and string bound and is fairly durable but does start to break if you’re particularly persistent with trying to flatten it. The images are printed double-sided and therefore a number of them do enter the spine a little which makes them tricky to colour. The paper is bright white, thick and lightly textured, I experienced no bleeding or shadowing with any of my water-based pens and I was able to get plenty of layers with my coloured pencils; alcohol markers will bleed through. The majority of the images are double-page spreads and a quote from the original book is printed onto each. The images themselves are arranged into chronological order to loosely tell the story and consist of a number of scenes, quotes, patterns and images depicting something mentioned in the displayed quote. There are images of Catherine and Heathcliff meeting, Heathcliff brooding in multiple images, Catherine dying, Heathcliff dying, inside and outside Wuthering Heights, plenty of objects from within the house and wallpaper-style images. At the end of the book is a double-page spread of The Symbolism of ‘Vanitas’ objects, these objects of life, death and sin are illustrated throughout the book and their symbolism is carefully matched to each part of the story which is a wonderful touch!

In terms of mental health, this book is ideal if you’re a fan of the original story, and actually even if you’re not, it’s still beautiful to colour, the extent of my knowledge of Wuthering Heights before reviewing this colouring book was the eponymous Kate Bush song but I have still really enjoyed colouring and reviewing it. The images are drawn in a consistent line thickness which remains thin, with spindly thin details throughout. There is a high level of intricacy and detail in many of the images though there are larger spaces in the images containing people, but mostly you’ll need fairly good vision and fine motor control in order to get the most out of this book. There isn’t a lot of leeway in the images to prevent you going over the lines or missing the details so do bear this in mind and check the suitability of the images below. The images are very pretty and quite fancy and floral throughout, they feel a little chaotic and indicate a lot of movement but from the synopses I’ve read of the story, this seems quite fitting. The quotes are chosen very well to tell the story from beginning to end. The scenes depict the most crucial moments and are interspersed with beautiful images of objects, jewellery, furniture and patterns that all fit well with the other imagery and the story itself. Some of the images are busier than others so there is a bit of variance in the amount of time it’ll take to complete each page but mostly they’ll take a good few hours to complete and are therefore most suited to good days where your concentration is high and you can focus well. These images are very distracting and will need you to pay a fair amount of attention so that you stay within the lines so it’s great for absorbing you into the task at hand and would be really good for practising mindfulness as you focus on the here and now. However, it’s equally good at transporting you off to a far off time and place where life was simpler and offers great escapism, especially if you’re a fan of the original book! Despite the content of the story being quite dark and depressing, the imagery doesn’t particularly portray this and the images don’t feel negative or like they’ll drag you down. As someone who doesn’t know the original story properly, I can’t attest to whether those of you who do may feel more affected by the images so please do check the selection below to be sure.

I would highly recommend this book to fans of Wuthering Heights, the imagery is beautiful, the quotes are really well chosen and it’s a really wonderful way of combining a classic story with stunning illustrations that you can colour into your own bespoke book. You could even give a fully coloured copy to someone as a thoughtful and personalised gift, though with the amount of time it’d take to complete, it might be very difficult to part with your work!
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2001
How anyone can think this book is remotely boring I'll never understand. It's brilliant from cover to cover. Emily's narrative is extremely enthralling throughout and I feel that this makes the book what it is. The characters are well developed throughout the story. Emotions such as love, hate, and anger decide how the characters interact with each other. The emotions dictate most of the characters actions because their emotions are so strong and clear even if they are irrational. But this is not a fault, the clouded judgement of the characters which some might say is "unreasonable" or "ridiculous" are merely the side affects of emotions such as love. The emotions are portrayed so well that you really do feel as if you understand the characters. This book is a complete joy to read. I think that it will appeal to a lot of readers. For e.g. I'm 15, and I loved reading it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 October 2006
Yes, this is a love story - but it's also so much more. Told through mutiple narrators, who all impose their own biases and viewpoints on the story that they're telling, this novel foregrounds issues of cruelty, love, passion, desire and death. That it was written by the reclusive, socially inept, and most probably virginal Emily Bronte underlines the problematic nature of the text. On one level it is the ultimate female fantasy, as Heathcliffe is Emily's ultimate hero (incestuously based on her brother?) yet on the other, it overturns so many of the conventions of the romantic genre in a transgressive way. The one thing that most readers agree on is the stormy, tumultuous nature of the story and the sense of peace we reach at the end. The only novel that Emily wrote (but read her poetry to savour her genius) this is still an experience that shouldn't be missed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse