Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2009
I have read this book before but thought I would treat myself to a new edition. This is one of my favourite books. If you like social history you will like this book. The book gives a fasinating insight into the country parson's world. Details of his food, the price, his servants and his social life. Details of his journeys across the country by coach. hope you enjoy it.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
Written in apparent innocence of possible publication, this diary is a delight to read. An honest, kindly, charitable man, James Woodforde seems to have been content to moor his career in a backwater for almost all his life. So the reader is generously told of domestic and local matters - including income and outgoings - but very little informed of national affairs. You are left with a picture of a thoroughly nice man, but one who seemed to regard it as unnecessary to get involved in the ethical matters arising in a Christian country. A really enjoyable read but don't expect too much. Thoroughly recommended despite that.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
I have thoroughly enjoyed reading the Diary of a Country Parson and I dip into it as bedtime reading. It is a most fascinating insight into 18th century country life and social hierachy. The amount of visiting and dining together of the middleclass and of their after dinner entertainment. The amount of food consumed at dinner with four or five different types of meat followed by fruit and various pies. There is also the sadness of the infant mortality rate and the Parson is regularly conducting their funeral services. The poverty of the working class is ofset where possible by the generous parson and his diary is sometimes humerous when he tells of why he has given certain amounts of money to the deserving poor. I was always interested in the amount of travelling from one part of the country to another in coaches to visit relatives. This is a most entertaining book which focuses on the lives of country people of the time with all their heartaches and pleasures. A real eye opener of life in those times.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
A lovely book, taking us back in time when things moved at a slower pace than today. It is quite refreshing to read of simple tastes and faithful friends. The parson was in to just about everything, why he even pulled out his penknife and operated on a cat! A story well presented and a lovely book to grace my book shelf. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2009
I first heard readings from this diary at a concert featuring West Gallery & Shape Note choir "The Village Quire" from Glasbury on Wye. I was so entertained I decided to seek out a publication of this work. This is the one I found at a reasonable price. I have found it extremely entertaining. It is a down to earth portrayal of ordinary life of the period and contains more than a few eye openers. A delightful book that you can dip into for a few minutes entertainment. It contains many passages suitable for the type of evening where I discovered it, rubbing shoulders with readings from Thomas Hardy and Laurie Lee.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2011
A chronicle of life in the eighteenth century, from killing the pig to buying black market barrels of brandy and trudging through knee deep mud in bad weather. You won't get closer to the real experience. Marvellous. I plan to trade in my one volume edition for the full 5 volume set.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
This is very much a running comentary of a man's life, from around 18 until within 2 weeks of his demise.

This is an insight to a period in history, a social history, of a man making a living as a priest within the countryside; their meals, their attitudes and behavior, way of life and much more, during the mid 18th Century to the first few years of the Nineteenth. It is sometimes compared and contrasted with the diary kept by Pepys, a man that lived in a much earlier age, and in a city - London - showing the contrasts in the ways of life between a priest living in the country, and that of an early, Civil Servant in city life - the morals of the main protagonists were at opposite ends of the spectrum - Woodforde being very moralistic,and leading a simple life, and Pepys very lecherous and adulterous.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
l read this book around 45 years ago when l was about 29 years old and sorry to say my memories are not what they was,
what l remember was a jolly little book with not so much of the eating, and meeting of the well to do but this is long winded account to many rich not enough of the poor,to much account of what they ate,
although he seems a nice man l got fed up half way through this book he prays for rich and royalty but as far as l can see not enough for the poor,l know it is the times but l have read other parsons books which give a far better insight to how people lived,
the person who made the selections was thinking more for learning than entertainment
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
I cannot express how much I loved this book.It took me months to read it [I only read a couple of pages a day] but if you perserver It will reward you no end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Fascinating reading into the life of a clergyman, and the customs and happenings of those times. Nice edition and swift delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)