Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 24 June 2017
all arrived and exactly as expected a good book on the sbject
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
Excellent, prompt service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
very impressed-signature of the author was the icing on the cake
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2008
This superb book should help you catch more trout. It lists the 7 best flies and then adds a few more to make 12 to aid you at the river side. It helps you tie them if you wish, or directs you in what to buy and in what sizes to cover most of the hatch. Helps you identify the bugs being eaten and match them from your fly box. With good information and great pictures. Read this book carefully as a beginner and you will catch more fish
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
There are at least two respects in which I regard this book as excellent: it is well-written, and it addresses the subject of the behaviour of nymphs. I mention the former because I have done a lot of editing and notice immediately when a writer makes a grammar or syntax error; I can also see whether he has thought about his sentences. The writer scores highly on both of these counts and adds an occasional touch of humour. Well-written books are becoming a rarity nowadays, though fly-fishing books seem better than most.
But enough of this - the main reason for recommending this book is the information on nymph behaviour. Most fly-fishing books give little or no space to this and yet it is one of the most important things that a fly fisherman learns. A trout feeds mainly below the surface and is often put off by a nymph behaving oddly. Thus it is vital that a fisherman knows whether his nymph is a darter, a crawler, or a burrower - and how it makes its way to the surface.
There is, of course, much more information than this. If I have a third reason for recommending this book it is that it is available for a very reasonable price.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2009
As a newcomer to fly fishing, this has been a great buy. It's relevant to the UK fly fisher, concisely written, very informative, well illustrated and lists a bit of extra reading if you want it. It's a great book to help you start a sensibly-sized collection of flies too and if I sold flies, I'd capitalise and sell a pre-assembled set of the author's Magnificant Seven.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2002
Matching the Hatch, in Pat O'Reilly's own words should be called Matching the Munch. As someone who is just starting along the road of imitative fly fishing and tying I have found this book an invaluable addition to my library. I is a superb guide to what trout may be feeding on throughout the year and most importantly it is written for the UK.
It is not what I originally expected in that it is not a fly-tying book. It is, however, superb! The book is made clear and is divided into the different seasons so you know what to look out for at different times of the year. For the fly-tiers among us, brief descriptions and photos are included of flies to use to imitate each beastie.
My own project over the next few weeks is to tie the Magnificent Seven and the Deadly Dozen from this book. Buy it, read it, and most importantly enjoy it!!
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2010
This is the perfect book for those fly fisherman (like me) who just want an overview of the trout's diet and equivalent flies, without going into too much detail. Clear, well set out, and eminently readable. Just the job.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
I'm a retired Engineer of 71 years, and Having taken lessons in fly casting and learning to tie flies,this book was just what I was looking for. informative from the trouts view point,with good explanations of under water life cycles,clear pictures of both live and tied flies and small fish. I recommend this book to any one starting out fly fishing and also to those already hooked.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)