Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 4 March 2014
Stunning book, superb photographs bring it to life. Written in an easy manner, which still manages to convey important information re buses, roads and where to stay. I bought it as a book to dip into to remind me of places and experiences, in the High Atlas or the Jebel Sahro. Very nice book indeed. It does not intend to be a precise guide, which is fair enough, but it is very inviting and helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2013
Really, this book contains loads of great advice and images. It's more than just a guidebook you'll want to keep it for your whole life along with your great experiences of Morocco.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have always liked Hamish Brown. He brings a workmanlike enthusiasm to anything he writes about the great outdoors. He is not airy fairy, but neither is he olivious to the sheer beauty of his environment.

I used to get Mr Brown mixed up with his tougher climbing compatriot Hamish McInnes. However, this Hamish is the master of the long distance footpath, the mmountain scramble and the backwoods trail - not the sheer ice cliff or the knife edge Alpine ridge. This makes what he writes about pretty accessible to most fit people with a love of the outdoors. This book on the High Atlas of Morocco is aimed at just that audience. The walks are in an exotic environment, but not beyond the fit retiree.

The publisher, Cicerone, are bet know for their wide range of guidbooks for far-flung places. This is almost but not quite one of these. If I were going to walk in Morocco I would definitely take it with me, but its a bit big and heavy for carrying on an actual walk. Since only 3 pages or so would cover my normal day's walk I suppose I would make a photocopy to see me on my way. A major mountain gets nine pages with map, approach details, bivouac locations and grid references. As you might guess, this is extremely helpful, but left me reckoning I would prefer to be on an organised expedition for such an ascent.

So pluses: some historic context,exotic location unpacked well, good orientation photos, useful maps and tips, whets the appetite - in other words like a guidebook

minuses, rather too personal text leaving me thinking 'that was nice for you, but how does it assist me?', photos kept small to fit the format and reduce the size but still bulky,- in other words like a coffee table book, but not flashy enough

However, when push comes to shove this book has convinced me that I should go into the High Atlas for a serious visit (I,ve only clipped the edges in the past.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Whether or not you like this book will largely depend on how you like your mountain guide-books to present themselves. This is a personal account of HB's escapades in a land he evidently adores, formalised into a list of recommended routes. It is not the dry matter of a topographic guide nor the diarist style of a travelogue but something in between.

I have seen some criticism of the mixed standard of the photos but this is to miss the point in my opinion. The one objective here is to encourage the reader to visit this spectacular place as Brown has done time and time again. Seeing an enthusiast's slightly amateur shots reminds me that this isn't Lake Louise in Canada or Fujiama in Japan we are talking about. We aren't going to see the Atlas through a pro photographer's lens, enhanced by expensive post processing. We are going to see it as Hamish did with his friends and guides making cameos.

Maybe this isn't what the mass market want these days, but I'd say this book was a triumph of content over style and it has fueled my desire to visit the area enormously.

As I haven't been there, I can't comment on the accuracy though I do suspect that what HB considers trivial might prove challenging to most of us. I get the feeling that Brown wants us to be reminded that we should learn our mountaincraft in the cradle of our British hills before taking on some of these more inaccessible tops that may need a higher degree of commitment. Wise advice for all travellers who are known on occasion to forget to pack their better judgment.

Overall this is a book with a lot of personality and some very tempting routes. I hope someday to tick a few of them off!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you enjoy trekking and walks in the wilderness, then "The High Atlas" invites you to explore a new, not often celebrated world. As simply put by the auther, Morocco is one of the world's most rewarding lands for mountain activities. The book presents a well-organized overview of the Atlas mountains. The author has extensive trekking and writing experience from all over the world, but the Atlas range is one of his most beloved regions. This is where he began trekking in 1965 with over 50 visits since, including a journey from one end of the Atlas to the other in 96 days in 1995.

The book begins with an introduction to trekking in the Atlas mountains, and then the bulk of the book gives descriptions of the author's own journeys; in total 48 treks are described. Route maps are included for each trek. At the end are five appendices - A: a glossary of universally used French and Berber words relevant to the subject matter; B: other potentially usefuly books; C: List of what to take D: Highest summits in the range E: Contact details of the author's own local guides (which could prove to be very useful).

It is easy to read, informative, and includes plenty of photos. To the uninitiated, it opens a new world of snowy mountains in Africa to dream of exploring. For those who have already traveled there, it will surely give new ideas of places to visit and useful information on how to make it happen. The book reignites the allure of the wilderness, remoteness, exploration, seeing wildlife, and enjoying the sun and hospitality of the Berbers.

If Kipling's everlasting whisper, "Something hidden. Go and find it. Go and look behind the Ranges - Something lost behind the Ranges. Lost and waiting for you. Go!" comes to you, then you will find this book to be a valuable guide.

0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Hamish Brown is something of a legend, and Cicerone produce some of the best guides to the hills you can get. This is no exception to each of their high standards - Mr Brown clearly knows these Mountains well, and shares his experience freely and generously. There are some great pictures to accompany the descriptions of the treks he's lead, with as maps of the areas and a host of supporting information.

This is probably too big to take as a field guide - you might use this to supplement an expedition, but my guess would be that if you're heading for somewhere as out of the way as the High Atlas you're either fairly experienced already or rather reckless. Either way, I hope you'd have more to support the trip than this alone, although it wouldn't be a bad start. It's organised as descriptions and ancedotes of expeditions rather than being a guide as such, and is halfway between being a guide book and a collection of expedition tales. Perhaps because of this, I found it hard to appreciate as much as some others - probably because the author is such a competent leader the expeditions are less eventful than those of less skilled climbers, such as Eric Newby (see the excellent A Short Walk in the Hindu Kush). So whilst there's an awful lot of experience here, this one didn't really grab me as much as I expected. A good book - just not for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I chose this book not because I am a seasoned mountaineer but because the idea of mountain climbing has long drawn me. The book is beautifully produced, filled with striking photographs of the mountains and, what is even better for those who do climb, packed with useful information.

The climbs are listed in detail with suggested routes, difficulty levels and time spans. There are very useful links for which guides to use, where to start, what to take, how to best plan one's route and so on. Mr Brown obviously knows his subject (and Morocco) inside out, and shares his enthusiasm and knowledge very generously. The writing style is clear, open and accessible. There are almost fifty different routes examined, complete with maps. The photographs of the Berber people add extra interest and Mr Brown has plainly made many friends amongst them. He does not, however, gloss over the possibility of friction and even says of one trip that the attitude of the muleteers became unpleasant. From the rest of the book, I gathered this was the exception rather than the rule, but it is good he is straightforward about the potential of discord.

I have enjoyed this book so much although I know I will never put my feet within his footprints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 August 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Cicerone Guides are among the best you can buy when planning treks and this book by Hamish Brown covering a wide range of treks from gentle one day hikes to treks to higher peaks which will reward you with amazing views and vistas.

As other reviewers have stated, its a bit too big to take with you but this book is perfect as a first planning tool, to help identify the treks over a whole holiday and will allow you to plan routes, maps and rest stops.

Hamish Brown's love and knowledge of the area comes through this book and his enthusiasm and understanding of what the users wants to read to inspire them to explore the area is evident..

It is also full of beautiful pictures of the peaks and the world around them.

Perfect for anyone who wants to explore this part of Morocco further or want a momento from a previous trip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2012
The High Atlas is a unique book both for its wide ranging coverage of Morocco and its unusual combination of practical guide book and travel writing.
The book contains almost 50 different routes covering the majority of the Atlas mountain range from well-known Toubkal massif which contains highest peak in North Africa, Jbel Toubkal at 4167m, to off the beaten track ranges such as the Eastern High Atlas. This makes the book suitable for those experienced travelers and trekkers looking for new experiences, as well as novices to the region. It is also a useful guide for those looking to hire guides locally, as well as for those seeking inspiration before searching on the internet for specialist tour operators for a
This comprehensive book contains good helpful info at the start and a useful appendix at the end including a list of other guidebooks and maps. The core of the book is divided into mountain ranges and then routes. Each route includes an account of one of his treks or climbs, followed by practical information about the area and the route. These descriptions provide a good insight into the different areas, as well as providing invaluable tips, all backed up by inspirational photos.
The accounts of his trips contain short sentences, which are often taken straight from his diary notes of the time, often dating back over 40 years. Some of the narrative is rich in anecdotes and give you a real flavour for the time and place, whilst other are too brief and leave you wanting to know more.
This is a large book, a little heavy for those looking to travel light. It could also be argued that it falls between two stools, neither being a guide book in the classic sense or a story.
However, this is a quintessential book for those planning a trip to the Atlas mountains especially for those looking to get off the beaten track. As the book points out, other specific guidebooks may also prove very useful as a companion, such as the two Cicerone titles: Mountaineering in the Moroccan High Atlas (Cicerone Guides) by Des Clark and/or Trekking in the Atlas Mountains: Toubkal, Mgoun Massif and Jebel Sahro: A Walking and Trekking Guide (Cicerone Mountain Walking) by Karl Smith.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A fine book by Hamish that makes a change from his Scotland ones. Plenty of info and colour photos make this a 'dip into' book whereas his previous ones have been more traditional books. I would say this is more like a guide book than an account of his travels so good for info on your own trips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)