Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2012
The book has much to commend it: basic, but clear maps, useful summary box for each walk, good compass directions and handy (e.g. bus) information for accessing the walks. However, as with other walks books, the major downside is that it becomes rapidly out of date: the gully at the end of walk 1 is, at the time of writing, a potential death trap after a land-slide. Walk 2 also illustrates other failings: instructions are occasionally wrong, and sometimes misleading e.g. the use of the phrase 'in a matter of' seems to cover one or two through to the hundreds! I would also question the estimated time each walk should take: perhaps we are getting older, but surely you would need to be a mountain goat to get round in the expected time for the walks we have done!

If an updates/corrections list were made available on the publisher's/author's website, I would then rate the book far more highly.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
We did the section around Ravello, Amalfi and Minore. The walks chosen were good however the instructions were very scant. 3 lines to cover an hour section with lots of turnings off, ascents and descents. We went wrong at least twice on each of the walks we did and it took a long time to work out what the book actually meant us to do. Timings were very poor sometimes we did a section faster but mostly much longer. We are experienced walkers. The book would have been much more helpful if it had left out detail such as - you will be in the company of lizards and cats along this stretch and put in more useful detail about accurate distances to a turning and timings along shorter stretches so that you knew you were on track. The maps also could have been more useful if they had been more detailed indicating ascents and descents and stepped sections and also where other turnings off you weren't taking were.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
Be warned a number of walks are now closed with barriers and brick walls; others are overgrown. For exmple Walk 21 is, extremely overgrown above Priano (wear heavy trousers not shorts), having climbed 400m or to reach the anticipated spectacle of walking through the Furore gorge you find it is closed because of the risk of rockfall. The old Fjord fishing village is now deserted, abandoned and inaccessible. There is no warning of the closure at the start of the walk from Priano. The lack of detailed maps makes parts of the walks difficult to find, Google Streetview can help find path intersections with roads and start/finish points.Once on the walks the instructions are generally good.
The problem of closed paths in the Amalfi area seems to be growing, I met walkers who had intended to walk from Ravello to Amalfi and Sorrento, they reported many paths shown on their guide map are closed; resulting in lengthy sections walked along the busy tourist coast road.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
This is a collection of selected walks in the area. Rather than attempt to be fully comprehensive like the book by Julian Tippett, it concentrates on a set number of walks selected for their scenic merit. Having also got the book by Julian Tippett, we found that to be a much more convenient and flexible format, and did not try any of the walks in this book. We also found it rather difficult to navigate our way around the book, which is divided into several chapters covering different parts of the area.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2016
Good overview of walk alternatives , estimated time durations are realistic for an experienced hiker, detailed text destinations of where to go but when a detail is missing you can get lost a while, must bring GPS maps with you then you're ready to go
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
This is a brilliant book. We did three complete walks and one part of a walk from this book in a two week visit to the Amafi.

There are asy to follow directions, interesting background information as well as comprehensive transport advice on how to get to and from the start/finish.

Highly recommended.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
A great book for finding quiet coves, dramatic scenery and extra interest in a very touristy area that otherwise would be a bit limited to souvenir shopping in pretty, crowded towns. Made for an interesting holiday with plenty of options for a family with teenagers that don't object too much to walking in the midday heat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2012
Recently purchased and used this book during a holiday to the Almafi coast during Oct'12. We walked several routes around Almafi and also on Capri. In general the walks were well described and in particular were circular routes making for a more enjoyable day out. I would agree with other comments that the walking time is the absolute minimum for a fit walker. Add several hours (depending on walk duration and grade) for stops, photos etc. Also we had a problem with one walk where a turn was not described, though red arrows on the path showed the way. The early parts of routes through the Almafi coast towns can be somewhat confusing with narrow lanes and lots of junctions so some care is needed, though signposts are quite frequent. The book contained good images of walk routes and simple maps. You may require a more detailed map though in the end with signposts and the description we did not need to use ours.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Tough, detailed and accurate. The additional information about the area is interesting and useful. A worthy member of the Cicerone suite of guides.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Bought this book prior to a trip to the Amalfi Coast. Looks to contain good clear information will know how good it is when I am there!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)