Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2009
This is a great book of walks for visitors to the Northern Isles. The walks range in length and difficulty and most are circular which is always an advantage. I found the instructions easy to follow and appreciated the additional information given on landmarks etc. The book is compact and easily fits in the pocket of your rucksack - I would definatley recommend it if you are visiting the Orkneys or Shetland
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
Thinking of travelling to Orkeny or Shetland? Then this is an excellent compact book that details walks 25 walks on Orkney and 55 walks on Shetland. There are short walks and day walks and, as well as specific directions, there are descriptions of historic sites with background notes, natural wonders and bird sanctuaries. There are many walks for those who want to see noteable sites, but do not want to stray too far from their car. It can be used as a companion to Walks: Orkney that has 40 walks graded for their difficulty. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Detail is always good, choice of easy to strenuous walks appreciated, photos helpful in encouraging choice. Maps are brilliant along with the use of OS ones (always mentioned) and timing close to what the walk is likely to take although if you are a keen photographer, always add time - I HAVE to! I lost one book when on the Shetland Isles and felt bereft - I had lost my walking Bible! Fortunately it was at the end of my holiday and I have now replaced it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
This book details walks on Orkney and Shetland as described and there are about twice as many walks on Shetland as for Orkney. Orkney walking is a major disappointment for any serious walker who relishes tracks or paths of 8 miles or more. Most of Orkney is farmed and it does not have a network of public footpaths like most areas of England - the land is chunked up into fields mostly surrounded by barbed wire fences, and the farm 'lanes' often don't go very far or join up with paths that exist. As a result the walking itself is highly disappointing and in 6 days we managed to cover all the decent walks on the Orkney mainland and the main one on Stronsay. Some of the walks described in the book do not actually exist as a path on the ground - for example the Covenanters Memorial walk cannot easily be done because there is no path along the cliff edge where the walk goes along it, and you are wading through long grass and crossing barbed wire fences. On the coastal walk to Stromness, the path effectively disappears after Black Craig and is completely constrained by a fence line which comes right onto the coast edge and you cannot follow the coastline easily, having to drop down onto the rocks towards Warebeth Bay, which would be impassable at high tide. Therefore I'd suggest having a re-look at all the walks listed to make it clear where they are following paths and where they are a route which the author has effectively included but is not on a path. Most of the walks were well described in the book with good maps and written descriptions, but the author is severely limited by the lack of any decent circular walks, most being short walks of under 5 miles and not very inspiring.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Cicerone guides are always well presented, and nice to carry. In fact, my only criticism is that potentially you dont want to take them out on the actual walk with you for fear of messing them up! I was only intending going to Shetland,but now will have to go to Orkney too in order to make the most of this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
I am going to Shetland in June 2013 and this little book looks to be ideal for planning walks on the islands. I already have a few marked that we shall be using.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Has some excellent walks in both places. Been to Shetland twice and Orkney once. I would reccomend going to Orkney first. We did not and Shetland is so fantastic that Orkney was a bit of a let down. Want to go back again to try out some more walks in this wild area
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
Overall it is a good guidebook... if you have a few weeks to explore the islands... The guidebook contains a lot of information but the print is so small... Make sure you have good eyesight or pack a magnifying glass ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
A good little guide book, I think!!. Will know better after taking it to the Shetlands and Orkneys this summer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
Great book, good explanation, eazy to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)