Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 29 April 2015
ANOTHER EXCELLENT GUIDE BUT WHAT ELSE WOULD YOU EXPECT FROM PADDT DILLON & CICERONE PRESS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2010
Having tried three of the walks described in this book and finding two of them with directional mistakes (advising to go right when it was in fact left) I can't recommend this book. Add to that the author describing a route to take up a moorland hill then changing his mind in the next sentence - baffling. Why not just describe it correctly in the first place? A shame as many of the walks look good and I'll still use the book as an indicator of a good walk but I won't be following the author's directions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2009
This is a good pocket-sized handbook. It is nicely illustrated, made with good quality paper, making it useful and durable for out-door use. There are plenty of well described walks and cycle routes.

My only minor criticisms are that if anything, the walks are too detailed (a good walking map provides sufficient detail), and I would have liked a separate map for each cycle path described - as is the case for the walks.

Overall, highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 January 2015
With all of the computer and internet options, you might think that physical books would go out of fashion. But it's good to have a straightforward book, never runs out of battery, with maps and hand drawings, to work from.
It's easy to browse in the evening when you're choosing a walk, and the walks are rated by length and difficulty. If there are muddy stretches, then this is clearly highlighted in the book so you can decide whether to avoid those walks beforehand.
For us, just starting out on walking, some of the walks are a little longer than we'd choose (many are 7, 10, 13 miles), but Durham is a beautiful county and perhaps we just need to grow into the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2011
A very useful book that describes 40 walks in a somewhat neglected area of the country. the author not only describes the walks in detail, but also gives very useful descriptions of points of interest on the way. The photographs are very good and the maps are clear. A must for anyone staying in County Durham for a walking hoiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2011
Good book at a good price delivered on time and in good condition. A great companion on a few days in Durham with some lovey walks of different degrees of difficulty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2014
very handy book for those whom live in the north east of the Uk and like walking - details go some good walks in the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2011
Looking forward to doing some of these walks. I thought I knew the area well, but there are some surprises in here!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2014
I love this publisher. The books are pocket-sized so easy to carry as you walk. I have this and another one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2013
Book gives some variety of options for the area. It is good to get a guide book specific for the area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here