Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2017
Very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5S lies at the heart of lean and, yet, there are only three books dedicated to the subject on Amazon. Perhaps that is because it is more of a practical than a intellectual skill. Nonetheless, 5S provides an excellent grounding for building a team that can progress to lean improvement. 5S provides the discipline to identify and map flow, calculate takt time, define metrics and standard work, and understand capacity. "5S in 90 Minutes" is the best of the books I have read on 5S, setting the topic in the broader lean context and providing some really good insights into the purpose of 5S. I spent much more than 90 minutes on it and the book deserves that attention. I've taken a star off my rating for the author's occasional rambling, and there could also be some more templates or checklists, but overall this is the best book on 5S I've seen.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
A very good introduction in Kaizen though further reading will be required (the author does submit further links in the appendix)
If you feel as though your office, shop floor or own business requires continuous process improvement then this book will start you on your way. I have taken bits for from this book to try and get the ball rolling within my environment; the book is very practical in the way its written and yes i did read it in under 90 minutes. give it a go!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2014
Generally, the book is good value for just under £7.

It is quick to read, and well organised into chapters dealing with each of the 5 "S's". It's clear layout and approach makes 5S easily comprehensible to the reader, particularly those with little or no experience who I would guess are the main target audience.

The thing that lets it down, however, is that it contains a number of grammatical errors. These look like they are largely the result of spelling mistakes, or "auto correct" errors that are not picked up by spell checker because they are actual words eg. "that" instead of "than". One of Ohno's 7 wastes (waste of overproduction) is also repeated in the list on page 64.

There may be those who think I am being picky, but this is, after all, a book about quality and I would expect a higher standard of proof reading. This loses it the 5th star, but otherwise, apart from the slightly irritating errors, I would recommend this to anyone wanting a simple and practical explanation of how to implement 5S Kaizen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
This is a good overview of the 5S principles and is clearly written and you don't need to be a rocket scientist to understand it which means that it's a good book to pass around a department to refer too and read

It's written about UK factories as well which helps

I am just looking for that 5S reference book with a load of scenarios and ideas if this book had some more of those it would be really, really good - I find it easy to understand the principle but need some scenarios to get the ball rolling in the real world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Bought this to try and understand 5S a little more, it was an ok read and somewhat interesting, however there is a lot in the book that i did not find relevant to what i was wanting to understand. no real practical applications that i could use in work, that will have to be another book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Book received in good conditions, as described and after transacton. No necessery any comunication. I recommend this book to any who wants a new perspectiv on theme
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
The book was in excellent condition and the contents are what I expected. should make interesting reading. Many thanks for supplying in good time also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
Excellent read. Keeps the concept very simple and easy to understand. Very easy to apply. But it will take you longer than 90 minutes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
This book does exactly what it says on the tin, it is a quick read that helps to explain the 5s kaizen for beginners
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)