Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
34


on 4 March 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2011
this will be well used i would like to thank santa for my gift sorry the wife-
gift came on time and well pakaged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2014
Bought as present for son-in-law, who loves real ale and is member of CAMRA. He carries it with him all the time and has given me some useful recommendations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2011
its wonderful...zzzzzzzzz
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2011
Another year, another pint. The Good Beer Guide is an essential travel item listing and reviewing all the pubs that sell great real ale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2014
Nice book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2012
I buy the Good Beer Guide every 2 to 3 years.

CAMRA seem to be putting a lot of effort into updating the accuracy of the guide, and I did not have the problem ov visiting pubs that had changed completely from the description or worse - closed.

A great guide with loads of useful information.

A couple of years ago CAMRA seemed to be losing their way and the Good Beer Guide was in danger of being full of adverts. This seems to be under control now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2010
Indispensable if you are looking for good BEER. I personally find that if the beer is good chances are the pub will be too. Going to York for half-term this week and the book has thrown up some gems which I shall definitely be trying to find the time to visit. Heard on the radio the other day that cask ale has shown growth in sales this last year and that numerous new micro-brewereies are opening up: this is why this book is so useful as it lists the breweries too so if you are, for example, on holiday in Cornwall and you come across a beer and brewery you have not heard of before, the guide comes into its own providing background on both. I note the comments re: Youngs on an earlier review. Personally speaking, I'd take a Fullers pub over Youngs every time! All a matter of taste I guess. Great book though - well worth buying
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2010
This book often leads to good sometimes great beer so it does what is says on the cover and much more. The brewery sections are useful when visiting the larger beer festivals.

I live in the City that is the home of CAMRA and we have several excellent pubs so I find this book invaluable when visiting other towns and cities. A recent stay in Bath was made more memorable by trying some of the recommended pubs away from the busy City centre.

The Amazon price makes it exceptionally good value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2011
The GBG's are very good for pointing you in the right direction towards pubs that serve a decent pint of ale (especially in unfamiliar areas), as well as acknowledging its listed pubs that have Cask Marque Accreditation. My only criticism is that it does leave out a few pubs in areas where they do ales just as good (or perhaps better) than the pubs listed, likewise with pubs that have Cask Marque Accreditation (not to be underestimated as Accreditation means the pub do look after their beers and must be renewed annually). That said, the latter points can be addressed by nominating the pubs in question for consideration by the local branch.

Apart from that, it's a good guide and a must for those who want a decent ale in a decent pub.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)