Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
9
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2014
Robert Walser: one of the better kept secrets in the literature. Put in a asylum for being "crazy" but he wasn't. Wonderful stories, wonderful world, the world of this writer. A pleasure to read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2012
Walser's flavouring is that of essaying a narrative, then perhaps yes, i think, commenting on his own process as he creates this blending of essay & story-telling. As he approaches a change in mood, so too does the text change with his ebb and flow. Yet, whereas i cannot abide the overwritten zealous Proust, or the sheer same joke told over & over by Beckett, nor moreover, the intellect stomping-ground of Joyce...this, this swiss fella has vibrantly pursued his own course & is easier on the minds-eye. That his musing, changes of tone come across well, suggests he has also met with favourable translators.

These variably aged, differing story-essay-come-hither-glances of literature gathered here, are as ever a delight. The Walk is the longest 'item' involved, & seems to be the back-bone of the book. The other prose-pieces are as ever an exquisite state of 'walserness'.

He seems personally, to be writing without guile, without some sinister purpose, with nary a care for impressing the audience. But he does impress upon the audience, with every sense described. He appears to run his prose work like a mouse, a mouse in a maze, but a mouse that occasionally reminding us he also made the maze. Walser is one of those writers who enjoys to remind the reader there are no walls.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
The title story is typical Walser: a man goes for a walk, sees things, reflects on them: flaneur abroad. Most of the other pieces, as in Berlin Stories, are vignettes or sketches, some of them, quite frankly, rather dull. But there's always a slightly strange approach to the most banal of topics or scenes, something not quite in tune with the world: this makes even the most mundane of his pages somehow intriguing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Walser is one of those rare writers who sees things differently to everyone else. These minutely observed stories are striking, drily humorous, and - from the hyper-realist titular novella down to the semi-fantastical single-page micro-stories - always perfectly formed. They are timeless, haunting and absolutely unique.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Incredibly diverse short stories all remarkably reminiscent of the emergence of surrealism and the post modern post war American short story masters especially Barthelme.Strikingly inventive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
I can't give this book 4 or 5 stars because I was not engaged enough to read all the stories in it.

There are strange stories which hint at terrible mysteries in the ordinariness of life. I enjoyed the longest story "The Walk", but the other stories I read all had the same atmosphere and became a bit "samey".

Odd and interesting.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
Use of words 10/10 and entertainment due to that 10/10

A good fast read without frustration 4/10

my wife and I delve into this small volume and get terrific pleasure in just a few phrases or a page or too.
It is far too slow to tell the story to persist for long, but excellent at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
very prompt delivery... excellent condition..... a most interesting book....it would be good if I could have some idea of the font size for future ordering.. and the page quality etc
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
Amusing in parts but I couldn't really get on with it. The man is clearly insane.
I like the cover.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.