Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
8
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 9 August 2001
This book will not teach you the form of T'ai Chi but it will open your mind to the philosophy behind it. If you have been looking for your spiritual path through life without idols or saints - this is it. It uses selected verses from the Tao Te Ching to point the way.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2008
If you want a book that discusses the history of Tai Chi and its various forms, don't buy this book.

If you want to really understand Tai Chi then definitely read this. I keep going back to this book and dipping into here and there. It clearly explains through the verses of the Tao Te Ching how Tai Chi and Taoism are related.

It is also one of the best reads for anyone wishing to follow the Taoist path.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 August 2011
This is a useful and timely book (first published in 1989) that should serve as both an inspiration and a warning, which is evidently John Lash`s intention.
The first two and last two brief, succinct chapters - which I would advise reading first - give an uncompromising warning to those practitioners, and teachers too, who would attempt to use tai chi to `gain` something, or simply as a set of exercises, or to get a belt of some hue: an absurd idea, as he points out, tai chi having nothing at all to do with competiteveness or ego, everything to do with oneness and personal realisation of one`s part in the Whole (the Tao).
These are important provisos, rarely stressed in books such as this, and much needed for westerners who can tend to window-shop from the oriental spiritual supermarket, which does nobody any favours, least of all the Way/Tao itself.
The bulk of this short but fascinating book is an attempt to correlate tai chi with the philosophy of the Tao Te Ching, something which had not, I believe, been done before. For those interested, Lash`s book will be a resonant resource, a reminder, and perhaps a revelation.
Gratefully recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
What an excellent book. It has nothing to do with practicing the movements of T'ai Chi, no diagrams or instructions. It's a book about living a wonderful, peaceful, calm life and can help you realize that stress doesn't have to be part of it. It's easy reading and I'd recommend it for everyone whether your interested in Tai Chi or not.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
I first came across this book many years ago and often had it beside my bed and read it as a meditation occasionally. My orginal copy got handed onto someone who needed it more than me and I recently bought this new edition. Still helps me keep my feet on the ground when things get a little hectic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
This readable and practical introduction to the Tao Te Ching through the medium of T'ai Chi is worthy of a place on the bookshelves all interested in either discipline.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
A good read, easy to read and understand, a nice book to help you along your journey to peace and harmony
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2016
A journey into the simplicity of letting go and allowing things to go their own way until the time is right for right action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)