Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10
4.5 out of 5 stars
Too Black, Too Strong
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 January 2004
As expected, it would have been impossible to reach up to the standards of face and refugee boy, but this is still a pretty good book! Written in a similar style to his other books, this is not a novel but poetry, criticism and drama. it's worth a read.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
My 16 yr old (very literate but usually non-committal) son says this is 'very good'. He enjoyed looking at things from Benjamin Zephaniah's point of view.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
Strongly worded, well crafted and powerfully delivered, Zephaniah's is a vibrant and pertinent voice in modern British poetry. In this collection he examines and lays bare the injustices faced by minorities in Britain and elsewhere. Zephaniah is angry about injustice, he laments it and exposes it. His anger is sorrow too. He does not seek the destruction of society but rather justice for all; a chance for minorities and the underprvileged to be part of, and to have the chance to be part of, modern (British) society. Not all the poems are of the same quality but overall this is memorable writing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
Too Black, Too Strong is a relatively new book of Zephaniah’s poetry, and I’d probably say that it’s one of my favourites. In it, Zephaniah examines some issues which are pretty typical of his work – race, equality and politics. Interestingly enough, it was written while working with barristers on the Stephen Lawrence case, a black British man who was murdered in a race hate attack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
my daughter wanted a poet that had attitude and i recommended this. She has since red the book and cannot put it. she has read some more of his and thinks he is.one of the best writters around
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
I love Benjamin Zephaniah and this is an excellent read. I strongly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
I loved this book of poetry. So very thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Very good read - deep meaning poetry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
This book took an absolute age to be delivered as it was out of stock but when you need it for your son's school work this is really not acceptable but everywhere seemed to be out of stock as well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Refugee Boy
£7.99
Face
£5.86
Propa Propaganda
£5.67

Need customer service? Click here