Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 24 November 2014
First read this in nineteen ninety something. Now again on Kindle. It has worn well! Oh and been updated too, though. New poems. Some terrific poem examples in it. I read it on the train, chuckling in many places. Can't go wrong with this. Poets should have to read it as part of getting their licence to practise.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
A really useful and encouraging book, written with clarity and a nice touch of humour. Interesting examples, practical strategies to enliven the writing muscles and good ideas for writing groups. Loses one star for the rather mean reason that I wanted more detail, more depth, in places. A good purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Good down-to-earth guide
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2017
Interesting reading and some forms I hadn't come across before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Arrived as expected and book in good condition thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
Been writing poetry for the past 40 years and this is by far the best book on writing poetry I have read. Whether for beginner, intermediate or an old stager like myself, there is something in this book for everyone. I am on my 2nd copy and never leaves my desk. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
I have a small collection of poetry teaching books, this is easily the best. Takes a very much 'kick your backside' approach and encourages you to really look at your own poetry and that of others. Clearly identifies common failings and points you in the direction of excellent verse in many different forms. My wish list has grown by over a dozen books based on Peter's recommendations! Really expanded my horizons and encouraged me to take a good look at my own work and to improve it. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2004
Writing poems - it's a great title. Deceptively plain, it carries many possible meanings, most of which Sansom slings out before he starts.
From the back cover on, he makes it clear that he won't be telling us what kind of poems to write or how to write them. Instead he's offering something much more valuable - why to write poems and how to write them better.
Quite a chunk of the book examines the techniques of some well-chosen poets, making it almost as much about reading poems as writing them. This makes a lot of sense, given Sansom's strong belief that close reading must come before writing. Using the work of poets from John Keats to Carol Ann Duffy, he shows us in detail why they write poems so well.
He then takes us very readably through the formal forms, with endearingly opinionated opinions on them all, along with some good solid definitions of the spondees, dactyls and pentameters that can be so unnerving. He offers sound advice on choosing titles and explains just why we need to be careful of dangerous poetry words like shard.
There's a few writing exercises and games as well, though Sansom disconcertingly seems to think that we're going to be leading students through these, rather than using them ourselves. Evidently this is a book about teaching other people to write poems too.
Sansom repeats more than once that the poet should show rather than tell, persuade rather than insist. But since he's writing prose here, I guess it's okay that he playfully goes on to do quite a bit of insisting anyway.
For a start, he's pretty insistent on the value of the small magazines and marginal publishing that have done so much for today's poets, poetry and poetry readers. Well, true enough, and the question of where your poems might go once you've written them is certainly treated here in a more thought-provoking way than in the usual tedious cut and paste jobs straight from last year's Writers and Artists Yearbook.
Sansom is just as insistent on the importance of writing authentically - surely the most basic requirement for a poet and yet often so elusive. I found him particularly helpful on this point, though a bit surprised by his choice of poem to illustrate it.
The tone of Sansom's list of whose poems to read, and why, goes a little beyond the persuasive too. Fine by me - it's a very personal list and that makes it all the easier to trust.
There's no real shortage of people writing about writing. Unlike a lot of them, Peter Sansom is an accomplished poet with a track record of helping many others get there too. Hardly surprising then that his contribution is so practical and inspiring.
11 Comment| 276 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
A good basic guide to writing one's own poetry, with some touches of humour. I liked the choice of poetry examples, and the book doesn't overwhelm with too much technical detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
I bought this book after struggling with the poetry module on a Creative writing course. It manages to keep balanced on that fine line between the mechanics of writing poetry and the "touchy-feely" aspects of it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse