Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2010
There are so many books availaible about clock repair that it's hard to imagine there being space for another. But this modest book has squeezed itself in amongst the greats.I am a professional horologist and consequently work alone most of the time. This book is my bible, it's like having an expert friend working at your side. I often wonder "What Mick would do", and regularly seek his advice. I have even revised practices which I have been using for years after stumbling across a photo or section of text whilst browsing.
This book with it's easy to understand text and clear illustration, is also highly recommended for students who are studying for the Britsh Horological Institute's professional accreditation. Mick Watters was a respected lecturer at St Loyes College in Exeter and his experience is wholly relevant.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
I wanted a book that would not only instruct me on how to repair clocks, but also explain various aspects of the movement - this did all of those things. Brilliant
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
This is really not a book for the novice. The photographs, apart from the one on the cover, are very poor.
33 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
Reasonably up to date methods for amateur clock repairers to get going on a new hobby and maybe even a small business.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
My husband says it is a brilliant book he is enjoying it and learning a lot from it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
To be honest i think the author assumes you have a back ground in clock repair, i found things understandable to a point as i come from an engineering back ground but it rely does lack photographs etc to better explain what he is talking about, but to be honest it does not say for beginners in clock repair , but apart from this its ok, i think what is needed is a book with good color pictures etc, i as a beginner to watch and clock repair i am learning so much of the likes of youtube which is helping me to understand some of the books with very poor diagrams and pictures, i honestly believe this is the way to go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Excellent written book , pity that like all kindle books I have purchased the drawings and diagrams reproduced are too small and are of poor quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2017
Good book to start understanding the clock mechanism. Concise enough to hold your interest to discover an interesting hobby or pastime. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
This book has good content and clear pictures enabling the reader understand the workings and repair of manual clocks thanks
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
the book is very good as it shows in very clear pictures and text how to carry out procedures on repairing clocks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)