Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2005
If you are into 17th and 18th century costume then this is the book for you. It shows you in very good detail how cuffs, collars, pockets, button stands, seam detail, pin tucks etc of this period were done at the time. The photos are all excellent quality close ups and there are full garnment flats for each one as well. I am a degree fashion student and love to design from this period. Now I have a much better understanding of how to make my designs into actual garnments. I think its a great book.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2000
219 pages of colour pictures spanning 17th and 18th centuries, sections include seams and stitching techniques,collars and cuffs, quilting, stomachers, gloves and shoes. The notation is precise and useful. I think that costume makers will find it useful for construction, however it would have been five stars if an overall photograph of the costume was included.
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2009
Being a re-enactor finding source material is quite hard. Seventeenth and eighteenth Century Fashion in Detail is a superb resource for any costume maker to have. The photographs are very clear and colourful and the book has been an inspiration to us as we research our costumes, I unreservedly recommend it to fellow re-enactors.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2011
For those with an eye for detail and an historic bent, this stunning book allows you to get closer to 17th and 18th century clothing than you would ever be allowed in a museum. The stunning plates show the precision of the embroiderers and the crispness of the makers tiny stitches. I Recommend this book to costume designers, fashion designers, Reenactors or anyone with a fascination for this wonderful period and its complex fashion.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
This is a very interesting book, specially for those people who are in the area, also great for students. The photos are impressive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
Sumptuous close-up photography and detailed sketches of this exciting era of costume. One can only marvel at the skill and time-consuming effort of the original embroiderers and dressmakers. The fabrics and style details will inspire modern designers afresh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
RED ALERT!!! This book is a beautiful book, with wonderful pictures, but it is a re-issue of the book Historical Fashion in Detail The 17th and 18th Centuries by the same authors. My DH just bought this for my birthday in error, thinking it was a new book, but in fact I already have it - a huge waste of time and money. Having said that, if you don't already own it, it's a great book of the usual V&A style and quality.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Just loved this book. It has all I was looking for from point of fashion. All dresses are in color and has explained. Some got close-ups, where I could see all the details. Very good book if you are looking for fashion in pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
This book has been a constant reference during my costume course. The photographs are of the close up details which would normally be overlooked, even on a museum visit, not the complete garments. However each photograph is accompanied by a working drawing (black and white line drawing) showing both front and back views of all style lines and trim positions, which is especially useful for me and something you do not normally get in other books. If you have any interest in historical fashions this book is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
Whilst this book has amazing close up pictures unlike many other books, I found it frustrating that a whole picture of the costume wasn't also shown, especially as there was plenty of white page left. The line drawings are nice but the descriptions are rather bland when compared to the V&A 19th Century book. However, still a book definitely worth having in your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)