Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 11 January 2013
This book is an absolute revelation without requiring any interest in or knowledge of plants. By the end of the book you have a new found respect for plants and how they behave and cannot help but look at them in a different way. If there was any reminder needed as to how clever nature can be, this book contains the evidence.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2014
A wonderful and insightful book, written in a clear and succinct way. Excellent for advance school students and non-majors at University level, with robust and accurate, up-to-date information. Particularly admirable is the way the senses of plants are described as a story, rather than dry facts and bullet points.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2013
The book is well written and notes scientific method. Everything seems reputable and the writer manages to relate a plants life very closely to human life considering how different the two ways of life are. This book is incredibly interesting and the writer has even included a few youtube links to help visualise what he describes - although some of the links are down you can find the same thing by searching for it on youtube as there are multiple similar videos to the ones he gives links to.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2012
This really is an interesting read. It is nothing like the usual flower/plant and garden books. There are some really interesting and thought provoking topics in the book that I couldn't help but keep reading. Did you know flowers can distinguish between light of different colours. If you touch a beech tree it will remember it has been touched. There really are some very interesting facts and points in this book. You will almost definitely learn something new from reading this book. You will view plants in a different way. I also think this would be a great gift for gardeners or people who like the great outdoors. This book certainly goes beyond expectations.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2012
Excellent book, and very thought provoking. Couldn't put it down once I started reading it and have bought it for a friend who also finds it very interesting. Based on scientific researches.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2013
If you touch a tree and walk away, you will carry the memory of that tree and maybe some emotional connotations, the tree will only remember being touched. Does a Venus fly trap have a memory? Plants have to adapt, they cannot escape. We may share genes, but we use the sensory results differently. This book explores the sensory capabilities of plants but, for me, falls, unsatisfactorily, between an easy read and an academic study. Worth reading because it has some interesting thoughts and discoveries.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2013
The course is absolutely mind opening, and this short book is a good reminder and a useful reference. It's very professionally done and quite surprising. For those of us quite new to plant biology, I could even say it's startling.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2012
This is a very interesting and informative book which I couldn't put down once I'd started it. It is the type of book I will read many times or just dip into it when there is something specific I want to recall.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2013
I read this through in maybe 6 hours on a flight and was fascinated. It was an easy read that updated a lot of the interests I had as a biology student over 30 years ago. Much of the research - relatively easy experiments - about tropisms (plant movements) has been done in the last thirty year and these are expanding our overall grasp of the complex plant - environment interaction.
My only complaint would be that the book is too short - 180 pages but these are short, large print pages - perfect for reading on a plane though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2015
This is an extremely interesting work, written in language that anyone can understand. It gives a fascinating insight into the latest scientific studies of the senses that plants have, and compares them to human responses. It dismisses many long term myths while expanding our knowledge of many others. It also brings to our attention many new ideas of what a plant really feels or 'knows'. Intriguing reading for anyone with even the slightest interest in any types of plant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)