Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2014
As with many of these types of book, the whole thing could have been condensed into 20 pages or so, but has been expanded to over 200. Far too much anecdotal and biographical detail about various economists and psychologists and too little in the way of useful or interesting concepts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
I have read a number of books on behavioural finance and irrationality and this book holds its own. It would seem to me to be a very easy introduction to the world of behavioural psychology and even game theory as the examples on the whole are day-to-day examples and the structure of the book with very short chapters (there are 55 chapters!) means that the reader is able, if they want, to read this book in very short bursts.

There are 'better' books out there which cover these topics in more depth but they are usually much more expensive and so this makes an ideal first book for people to read in this area to see if the ideas are of interest to them. However, even for those familiar with this area there are still some good examples that I have not come across before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 September 2012
You might think you're a tuned-in consumer and immune to the tricks and gimmicks marketers deploy to get you to buy their products for top prices. But beware, says prolific business author William Poundstone: Your brain is keeping you from making rational cost decisions. This tour of the latest information on pricing techniques is well worth its price tag. Heed his information on the behavioral science that explains the flaws in the heuristics (rules of thumb) that keep shoppers and negotiators from being completely rational, and therefore, completely sharp. getAbstract recommends Poundstone's smart facts, research and insights to every consumer or business manager who wants the best deal at the right price and thus needs to know what the right price is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
This is an excellent book which is easy to read and full of real life examples. If you have read about the work of Kahneman and Tversky, and have a passing familiarity with Prospect Theory and Behavioural Finance then you will perhaps have covered some of this material before. Nevertheless I can’t down-rate the book just because you are widely read!

The physical book is well constructed with clear typeface on matt paper, but the drawings are disappointingly bad (blurry and close to unreadable in places). The book says it is printed and bound in Finland at the front, but near the back it says it is printed in Great Britain by Amazon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
William Poundstone's earlier book Prisoner's Dilemma, gave an insight into Game Theory. His comprehensive coverage of Game theory and Biography is repeated in Priceless. But, in Priceless it's Psychophysics not Game theory. How can you get a room full of Economists to agree on anything? Confront them with the Ultimatum Game. Altruism isn't dead, it seems it just never existed. Personally, I would go after the larger amount despite the risk, perhaps that is why I enjoyed the book so much. It will take a dcecade for its wisdom to become "common sense".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
It's an interesting book, all about the people who did experiments, what they looked like, their attitude towards each other, the motivations and personalities...

Great stuff, for an entertaining read. As a business book from which you can pull nuggets of useful, actionable data? Not so much. If you're already familiar with the .99 thing, anchoring, loss aversion being stronger than the greed of gains and decoy pricing, then there's nothing in here for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2016
Endless recycling of Thinking, Fast and Slow , a book which I found almost unreadable due to its obsession with detailing the methodology of experiments as opposed to the conclusions. If you run a business and are interested in how to price products/services, this book is heavy going and of little use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
I'm not an economist or a psychologist; so at times I found this heavy going. However, I enjoyed learning the 'hidden' elements of pricing and valuing items. Some of the points from this book I will definitely use next time I'm selling or buying something and now I have finished the book I will read it again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
An excellent book. Looks at issues of pricing, and how psychology leads us to believe we're having a good deal dependent on the price and perceived value of an item. Well written and accessable. Highly recommended for anyone with a business/pricing role
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
I really enjoyed William Poundstone's previous books and this one was no exception. The subject of this book isn't as interesting as some of his others but the style is great and provides a simple explanation of everything without being patronising.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)