Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
29
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2006
I really loved this book! It takes you right to the heart of Germany in World War II, and this incredible student resistance movement, with all their passion and bravado. A very moving story. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
I knew the story of Sophie Scholl and the White Rose group from the film. The book goes into more detail and the many others who passively fought Nazism under the banner of the White Rose. It is moving and impossible to know what risks and fear these brave young students endured and that many did not survive to see the end of the war. At least they are remembered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
This is a true book about brave young students who dared to challenge the Nazi regime during WWII. We read this book for our book club and everyone agreed that it was really worthwhile to know how people felt at the time and how incredibly difficult it was for them to mount any form of opposition. I grew up hearing the war only from the Allies point of view. This shows how horrified some of the German people were to the direction that Hitler was taking the country and they risked their lives in their protest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Really good story, it was told in the 3rd person, so I was constantly wondering what the people were thinking. Very good read all in all and very interesting to see the other side of peoples reaction to Hitler and Nazi Germany.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
We need to be reminded in our day of the terror the Nazis brought to the world so that it is not allowed to happen again. The events in Iraq and Syria in these last months should wake us to the the possibility.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
I really enjoyed this book. The story itself is an inspiration and the author captured this and wrote movingly. What I liked about this book was the presence of selected pieces from Diaries of the people involved which gave a deeper insight into the humanity of the people involved. The details make this book above the ordinary. While there are people like Sophie Scholl, we don't have to hang our heads in perpetual shame because of the terrible state of our world - there are diamonds in the rough that elevate us all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
in Britain, we tend to imagine the Germans all went along enthusiastically with the Nazis, from joining the Hitler youth, to attending rallies. This book shows another side to the German people, telling the story of siblings Hans and Sophie Scholl and their friends who ultimately went to the guillotine for writing and distributing anti-Nazi leaflets, urging passive resistance. It was also interesting to see how much covert support they had from those around them, even those who weren't members of the White Rose group. A terrible book but one that makes you see a new side to Germany of that era.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
A comprehensive account of an extraordinary group of people. It is exhaustively researched with numerous primary source appendices, including all of the White Rose's pamphlets, and a selection of photographs. Although the title refers to Sophie Scholl, Dumbach gives plenty of space to the other members of the White Rose, so you feel that you come to learn about them all. Her insights into German culture at the time, and its influence on the members of the White Rose are interesting, too. As you read, so the tension steadily builds until the terrible climax. Overall just a great, easy to read book, worthy of its subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2007
A surperbly well researched and presented account of an act of honour and bravery by conscientious young German students, who dared to stand up against the mind numbing machine of Nazism and the Nationalist Socialist movement during World War II.

In 1989, I visited an exhibition in the Reichstag, where there were a variety of uniforms for every aspect of life -- the postman, the milkman -- one for everyone! It was as if all German society was so bound up in this regimented and unforgiving mode of living.

Thus it was all the more refreshing to learn about the Scholl siblings and their quest to make Germans think. "We are your bad conscience!" they declared in one of the leaflets.

Sophie School and the White Rose could not have been a better written book. Dumback and Newborn describe not only the events in fine detail, but provide insightful background perspectives of all the characters involved.

No advanced knowledge of the war is required. This is a story of a desperate campaign for freedom during Europe's darkest days. As such, it should be required reading on every civics, philosophy, history or ethics course.

To cite the last sentence of the book, "...if people like those who formed the White Rose can exist, believe as they believed, act as they acted, maybe it means that this weary, corrupted, and extremely endangered species we belong to has the right to survive, and to keep on trying."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2009
I was all fired upo and looking forward to reading this book, because I'd just seen the 1980's german film version of the story which was excellent. Maybe my expectations were wrong, but I've found it very hard to get into this book. The background information that accompanies the story as it gently plods on is very interesting indeed and gives a great insight into how such a promising rebellion failed. But from my point of view, half the problem is that it is written in 'american' english, which just doesn't read well. I am going to read it to the end of course and maybe by then, my opinion might be different!!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse