Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Alice Cooper Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
94
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2017
This book was recommended to me by a preacher at a mission on Easter Sunday. I was brought up in the Christian faith but have struggled to reconcile it with science and logic, but I have an open mind. The first chapter of this book is heavy going because you have to contend with the author's rather verbose style that often obscures the point he is trying to make, and also the details of the Roman legal system, which is a bit tedious. I almost gave up at that point but was glad I continued as the book proved to be a compelling read. There is no doubt about the thoroughness of the research that has gone into this, and that, along with the forensic manner of the arguments, is what makes it very convincing. I particularly liked the fact that the author forces the reader to consider details about the events at that time in a context and level of detail that is often overlooked. While I found many of his arguments convincing, there were a couple that I didn't. One or two suggestions seemed to stretch credibility a little. On the whole this a a very good, very interesting book that will leave you thinking of the events of that period in a whole new level of detail.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
I have been a christian now 49 years and never explored in such depth that Frank had into the facts. I have have no problem in believing what the Bible says but in those 49 years never read the book, till now. The searching that this man did gives someone who still has doubts a good start to finding the risen and still findable Jesus.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
Frank Morrison wrote this book about 100 years ago. The title says it all. The author had set out intending to debunk Christianity, particularly the resurrection. He planned on proving it was untrue. Then he began his research and became convinced that it was true.

The book is a thoughtful step by step examination of the words of Scripture combined with psychological and intellectual 'debate' concerning many of the 'characters' found in the four Gospels and Acts. Included is an examination of Paul of Tarsus in an endeavor to understand his conversion and subsequent devotion to the veracity of the resurrection.

Morrison's thesis and logic makes for fascinating reading.

This book has stood the rest of time and will continue to be popular with those who like to get below the surface of the words of Scripture. This is essential Christian reading. I've found it very helpful in trying to understand many of the mysteries surrounding what really happened on that eventful morning some 2000 years ago.

The book title says it so well - "Who mover the stone?"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
It's quite interesting but does tend to take a long time to put its points across and is therefore a bit tedious in places. Personally, I prefer the book entitled "I don't have enough faith to be an atheist" by Norman Guisler and Frank Turek as it's easier to read and covers more topics relevant to the Christian religion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
The book is good and makes you think about events that previously you may have not considered. It reads like a mystery thriller. I found the first half of the book easier to read and understand than the second half. You may need a good dictionary as you read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
Brilliant read, written with authority and a clear knowledge of scripture. I found it like reading a report from a legally minded Christian and was left in no doubt as to the facts. Have now begun to read it again so that I too am in possession of the truth. This book should be on everyone's book shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Arrived quickly
Fascinating subject, well researched - gave me a lot to think about
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
A very thought provoking book whether you are a beleiver or not. it really made me think of all the different possibilities and left me convinced that the biblical story could be true. would recommend it to anyone
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
This book has been around for a good while, but it is still a useful book for any who have serious genuine doubts and serious genuine desire to seek out the truth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Heard the letterbox rattle then my phone pinged to tell me the book had been delivered... I remember when people used to knocked at your door. Lol

So to the booked, only on Chapter 3 and boy is it good, as a recent born again Christian his book is looking to be a real help when talking to non-believers about the passion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)