Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars

on 18 June 2014
This is not an 'in depth' study of the wall, but gives a very good overview to someone like me who has seen the structures and wants to know more.
You might then want to read more detail in another publication.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2017
Very nice book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 May 2016
I purchased this copy of the English Heritage Guidebook to Hadrian's Wall as a replacement for my previous
one which I had passed on to a friend who was off to "walk the wall" some time ago now.
Whilst not being the most fulsome of potted histories to our national monuments and treasures, English Heritage
guidebooks do provide a good basic overview of their subject.
Built on the orders of Emperor Hadrian after he visited Britain in 122 AD and taking over ten years to complete, the
wall stretches for 73 miles or (80 Roman miles) and runs from Bowness to Wallsend in Newcastle and was intended
to separate the Romans and Romano-British from the Barbarians.
The guidebook features the Roman forts, mile castles, reconstructed buildings and gates along the way, in places
such as Corbridge, Chesters, Carlisle, Housesteads and South Shields, with information about manning the wall
and general military and civilian life of the era. The inner end-covers contain a map of the area.
Unfortunately the guidebook being some 28.5 CM by 21 CM in size is not very backpacker friendly, and might best
be read and left in your car. It does however, have a good map, and has about as much information as a 60 page
guidebook can hold.
It is a worthwhile purchase and compliments other literature about the Wall.

Published by English Heritage
as a revised reprint in 2014.
60 pages.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Good detail but too heavy to carry around. Otherwise, nice book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
very good and full, and beautifully presented
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
LIke this guide, as it's nice & light, & easy to follow/use. Arrived promptly, & well-packaged, also as described. I would recommend both this item, & the seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
This is a great travel guide to the area filled with very good illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Arrived as described, thanks a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
Good information in this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
Bought as a present for my dad, he seems to like it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)