Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
25
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2013
Having always liked the idea of visiting Liverpool since the 1960s, but having only managed to do so in the past decade, an enjoyable short stay recently prompted me to buy this book, to learn more about the historical aspects that underpin the current, smart, refurbished version. This book follows the now-standard format of (logically) old on the left, new on the right, and is well-written by Mr Royden who appears either to be knowledgeable about the city and its landmarks, or good at local research (probably a mix of both). As ever, there are instances where we prefer the old view to the new - despite the cleaner, wider, more functional merits of the latter - either architecturally (Walker Art Gallery, Goree Warehouses, St John's Market); culturally (Cavern Club, Odeon cinema); or romantically (docks Overhead Railway), etc.; although the reasons sometimes have more to do with Hitler's wartime air force than insensitive planning. 5 stars - Dave
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
I just love these pictorial books of old Liverpool this ones selling point is that you have the picture of eg Lime St 1901 and next to it there will be a picture of Lime St circa 2001 this I think makes for a more interesting set of photographs and therefore more rewarding
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Brought this as a present for my next door neighbour who is 89yrs. He enjoyed it very much and it brought back memories.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
This is an excellent book. It compares what same locations look like today as compared with the past. So comparisons are made easier.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
I bought this for my father for Christmas it arrived quickly well packaged and in very good condition.my father loved the book it has very clear photos and shows a clear comparison of how Liverpool was and how it has changed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Lad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
Bought two of these books one for each of my brothers-in-law who enjoyed them very much. My husband, now deceased, and his brothers where born and raised in the Great Howard Street area. between 1928-1934 The family moved to Seaforth approximately 1939 and their father worked on the Docks as did the elder brother. The pictures and stories in this book evoked some very special and happy childhood memories for them both. I feel is was for them a walk back to their childhood. By todays standards some of the houses appear of very poor standard but I am assured there was a lot of happiness, laughter and joy experienced by the families. Was delighted to see and recognise Balfe Street in Seaforth were my husband and I had our first home when we married in 1962.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
A great book brought for a friend for xmas who i know will love it.
She came from LIVERPOOL many years ago.
I am sure it will bring back many memories.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
I bought this book for my mum and read it myself, loved it and found it very interesting! I enjoyed have a quick look as Mike Royden is a previous teacher of mine! Love referring to this book now as i work over in Liverpool myself. Not too complicated but filled with useful snippets of the area!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
The pictures old and new are very well matched, making for very interesting comparisons, and the accompanying text is very informative. Some places I already knew, some I didn't. Some places have changed so much, some hardly at all. In one way or another, it touches on so many themes: social history, photography, architecture, transport, town planning, sport, economics... Definitely recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here