Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
46
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2014
As a fan of 'Parks and Recreation' I was worried whether the book would capture the quality, humour and warmth of the TV series. I have not been the least disappointed - dare I say it, the book is even funnier. 'Parks and Recreation' has got better and better, the highlight so far is season 4 (I have just ordered the DVD for season five!). 'Pawnee' includes references up to season 3, including the (blue) wall-map showing the location of atrocities against the Wamapoke: "The atrocities are in blue"; and the return of Li'l Sabastian: 'miniature horse, local legend, and honorary PhD in Communications from Notre Dame University (1993)'.

There are lots of pictures and illustrations, but these add to the book, e.g.,: 'The Ramsett Park Civil War Memorial honors the seventeen brave Pawneeans who died to preserve the Union. The obelisk to its right honors the nineteen Pawneeans who died while constructing the Civil War Memorial'.

This book is highly recommended for anyone who enjoys 'Parks and Recreation' (only recently found out about the book; wonder if there will be a new edition for seasons 5 and six?).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
This book is awesome! The only downside is that some idiot (probably Jerry) scanned it in sideways, which means the writing is tiny.

Get it together Jerry! Boooooo!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
Very detailed, good quality, full colour, good size and weight, makes for an interesting read. I got this as a Christmas gift for someone who is a fan of the show and I think he will really enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
This is "LITERALLY" the best book ever created! I could not recommend this for Parks and Recreation fans more! It's an entire book they made just for the show and it is truly fantastic!! I cannot believe I actually own this masterpiece now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Bought this for my friend's birthday. Had a look through it before wrapping as I'm also a fan of the show and it's everything you would expect Leslie Knope to do- in other words: it's absolutely brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Bought for my daughter on her birthday who is a big Parks & Rec fan - she not had chance to read yet, but on flicking through looks excellent for any LK fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Original book, writing and artwork, five stars and more. An excellent addition to one of the best ever television series. DO NOT BUY ON IPAD KINDLE. Print is miniscule. No search facility. Having to buy one of those A4 magnifying sheets to read with comfort. Using a magnifying glass doesn't get all of a line in. I'm persevering anyway, because the text is thoroughly enjoyable but this really isn't good enough. (Sabotage by an Eagleton mole?)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
Let's leave aside, at the start of this review, that Parks & Recreation isn't on air in the UK, and that there aren't even any region 2 dvds of it available. In a world where that doesn't matter and you have somehow managed to see the show anyway, through visiting other countries, region 1 dvds or whatever, then all you need to know is this: 'Pawnee' is the best tie-in book for any show I've yet come across.

If you like the show, I can't see how this book could disappoint. It is nominally written by Leslie (the real writers are credited at the back by her: "Metaphorically. I wrote the book. Let's be clear") and as such has her voice throughout, but that is a lot less potentially irritating than I thought it might be. It's mostly in her fairly dry voiceover tone as in most of her talking heads about the city, the town hall murals, etc, and as such is entertainingly tongue-in-cheek to read. The sections that aren't by her also manage to fully capture whichever character supposedly wrote them: my particular favourite is Ron's account of a retreat to his cabin in the woods to shoot things and drink whisky.

Pawnee itself, however, is obviously the star of the book. There are sections on Sweetums, on the Wamapoke, the family dynasty of Kernston's Rubber Nipples, the best places to eat in town (JJ's Diner gets an unsurprisingly high number of mentions), an explanation for why City Hall is so much larger than it ought to be, and of course some more details about those murals. There's even a chapter on Eagleton, but I don't want to dwell on the horrors of that.

The book is nominally written by Leslie as part of the early season 4 storylines, so contains references and in-jokes to everything up to the end of season 3, but there's nothing that would really spoil ongoing plotlines or character arcs any more than an idle browse of the back of the dvds would. So if you want to learn more about the famous Bread Factory Fire, read tales of Joan Calamezzo's early days playing dead bodies in hit movies, and generally have a coffee table book that no-one else will understand but which will give you deep silly joy whenever you dip into it, this is the book for you.
22 Comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
I'm a massive Parks and Rec fan but DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK. The font is genuinely tiny, and there is no way of increasing the size at all. After an incredibly patronizing chat session with an Amazon rep AND a phone call, I've been refunded but I'm really disappointed by this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
This could well be a brilliant book tie in to one of the best comedy shows ever produced. I can't confirm this, however, as it is a shocking Kindle conversion which is incompatible with a standard Kindle and can only be viewed in landscape format on a tablet. I have requested a refund and will be buying the paper version.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)