Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
22
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2013
The questions are of the same calibre as those on the programme and I like that the book is organised into "shows" with little trivia and feature sections dotted around the place. So if you want to read questions sequentially, it would be fine except the quizzes don't offer page numbers where the answers can found.

But that isn't why I bought it.

I wanted a quiz resource. I thought the table of contents would enable me to browse the categories and take my pick but the Kindle edition just says "Contents" and displays no contents. So either the application is broken or the Kindle edition is not up to scratch.

There is no index to help you either. I can muddle through using bookmarks but on the whole, quite disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
As in the TV format, this book offers a combination of Special Subject and General Knowledge quizzes. The specialist quizzes are often fun if you know *something* about the subject without being a monomanic enthusiast who has devoted their entire life to study of the topic in question. The general quizzes are well-thought-out and offer a wide variety of questions set at a sensible level. If you like quizzing you will find plenty in here to help the long winter evenings fly away and you may even learn something!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
Some of the show's history and a very interesting foreword by John Humphries. I used it as 'revision' for another TV quiz show as I've noticed a lot of the same questions come around. My only problem with this book is the cover was on upside down compared to the contents. I thought it was part of the intelligence test!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 January 2014
A nicely organised quiz book that, just like the TV show, alternates sections of 'specialist' questions with general knowledge sections. The specialist topics don't feature anything too obscure and there's a good range of different topics. The standard of questions is about what you'd get in the quiz itself, so challenging but never ridiculously so. Whilst most of the book is questions, each 'chapter' has a short section of text on things like all time high scores and whether or not you should 'pass' on questions. There are some tips from previous winners, although nothing here is revolutionary or going to come as much of a surprise to people who watch the show regularly.

The answers are found at the end, and it can take a bit of thumbing through to find the right section, particularly as it's a thick book. I think it's easier to use in hard copy than it would be on an e-reader though, because flicking between sections tends to be very annoying on e-readers and as another reviewer observed the actual page number to look at is not given.

If you are thinking about entering the quiz, this book would be extremely useful. It could also be a good revision tool for other quizzes, either televised or local, or for someone looking for questions to set their own quiz. The topics can also provide some inspiration of other areas to read up on, especially the specialist topics. Overall, if you like quiz books, this is well worth getting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
I bought this book as we enjoy family quiz nights. We have young adults in the family, that this book just does not cater for. Its fine if you are over fifty or really hot on the particular specialist subjects, but otherwise the subjects and the general knowledge are far to hard for younger adults.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
As you would expect from the title, the questions are of a very high quality and the subjects covered retain the interest.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
The Mastermind Quiz Book

This was purchased as a gift for a hard to buy for person and he was "Over the Moon" with it. In a word "Delighted".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
The kindle formatting is hopeless, and navigating to specific quizzes/answers is a long-drawn out affair. As a book 5/5; on kindle 1/5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
I Love quiz books and trivia
so I knew when i got this book
it was going to be a challenge
its tough but fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Bought to help with quiz questions. Good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)