Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
55
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2011
The TV series is one of the greatest documentaries made if not the greatest. However bear in mind that the text of the book is an ad verbatim transcription of each TV episode with a few random pictures and in this age of readily available DVDs is probably not that useful or enlightening when you can have Dr Bronowski telling it in the comfort of your own living room.
33 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
I disliked Bronowski during his lifetime, he always seemed so aloof; thank goodness I have lived long enough to change my mind. I was converted by his simple but brilliant explanation of the theorem of Pythagoras which I first saw on You Tube. It was a great help to me, since when I was at school, I used to freeze at the mere mention of geometry and even more so at the theorem of Pythagoras. This simple extract from his BBC series the 'Ascent 'of Man 'converted me to be an immense admirer of the great Professor. Sadly, the BBC was instrumental in its withdrawal from You Tube so I decided to buy it, no doubt the object of their mean-mindedness, which is unfortunate as there must be many more like me who find the theorem a mystery. I should add that the whole series on four CDs which I purchased through Amazon is excellent value and should be a must for every schoolboy and schoolgirl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Bronowski had an advanced mind and the capacity to make his profound learning available, with understanding. to ordinary minds - like mine. This is my repeated summer reading and I have given perhaps twenty copies to those who otherwise would not have seen it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
A wonderful series of lectures which should be available in all middle age schools, I heard them years ago and rtought they had been lost but with the digital recording done by the BBC it is a pleasure to be able to sit back andlearn.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 1998
Bronowski uses the Darwinian metaphor for the "Descent of Man" from the apes to trace the Ascent of Man as it has come this far. Man is at once flesh, emotions, intelligence, spirit and soul. Fulfillment of the destiny of man is the rise from cruel beastliness to embodiment of all that is "good". Secular and non-secular views of the goals of society and spirituality are presented in newly conceived paradigms of astonishing freshness. This book, and the TV series Bronowski put together, captured the imagination and enthusiasm of people who knew about it in much the same way as the movie "2001" interested people. Rereading this book some 20 years later, it is still fresh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 May 2003
Nowadays many different books have been written to explain the unfolding of humans and civilization. This book covers many great products and inventors instead of all the great wars. In the 1970s this was unique to the public. And this book is the template for those to follow.
The contents include:
' Lower than the Angles (evolution of the head)
' The Harvest of the Seasons (the pace of cultural evolution)
' The Grain in the Stone (blood group evidence of migration)
' The Hidden Structure (fire)
' The Music of the Spheres (the language of numbers)
' The Starry Messenger (the cycle of seasons)
' The majestic Clockwork (Kepler's laws)
' The Drive for Power (Everyday technology)
' The ladder of Creation (are other formulas of life possible?)
' World Within World (the periodic table)
' Knowledge of Certainty (There is no absolute knowledge)
' Generation upon generation (cloning of identical forms)
' The Long Childhood (The commitment of man)
I have the original hardback book, reference book, and study guide. The local library still has the original videotapes. You have to be an institution to purchase them. This is a humanities course at the local collage. An added plus was getting to actually go through the Watts Towers as a kid. This work does rings around "Connections" by James Burke ISBN: 0316116726 because it is the story of the people behind the connections.
I am not saying that this book replaces others, but that it has more to say with out resorting to today's sound byte system of writing.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
This book is great. I got the sensation of re-remembering lots of little things I'd learnt at school but had long forgotton. The book ensentially takes you on a journey of man's early cultures and how they started right up to modern man. It covers the things that make's us us. From argriculture to art to maths and science. 'Mind-blowing', a must read for the average Joe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2017
Despite being written in 1973 I would highly recommend this book and the DVD of the television series. A thoroughly informing personal view of the scientific advancement of the human species. The content of Chapter 13 concerning science, politics and education is as relevant today as it was in 1973.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
I saw the accent of man on BBC four and it was great, I had to have the book...it is an education in it's self. A must have book in the book case. Great for kid and adults alike, Bronowsk knows his stuff, like David attenborough... a person that talks to you and not at you or down to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
Excellent informative, well written book. Written in layperson language so would be a good read whatever your reading level. Would be great for an inquisitive teenager and covers a wide scope of topics from the dawn of time to the year of publication.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse