Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
50
4.6 out of 5 stars
Complete Chinese Cookbook
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£17.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 June 2016
Another fab book by Ken Hom. A few reviews mention portion size. Worth noting that in the extensive section covering ingredients, cooking techniques and menu planning it does say recipes assume you will cook 2 meat/fish dishes, as well as veg & rice, and most likely a soup. Anyway, lots of lovely recipes to try in here.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
We love Chinese food and the recipes are easy. There are some very cheap cuts that he turns into mouthwatering dishes. Find a friendly Chinese supermarket nearby and they will add to the advice. Well worth having on bookshelf.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
Recipes ok, if a bit uninspiring. Mainly disappointed by lack of pictures, which I really need to get a feel for whether I want to try a recipe. Daft I know.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2016
Looks a nice book but it was a gift and haven't had any feedback from the recipient.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2016
Oh what a pleasure to find a good, well structured book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Easy to follow
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2016
Great book. Would recommend this seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
It is very well explained and lovely food, you don't have to be Chinese to cook Chinese.
Oo oo ll
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
I wish I'd bought this years ago. Received the book just over a week ago and have already cooked 4 different meals from this book - I can honestly say I've surprised myself with how good the food I've cooked tastes! I'd seen that Gok's book was currently the best seller in Chinese cookbooks and really considered getting that instead (I've resorted to recording his show to get his versions of Ken's recipes instead). Decided to go for Ken in the end as you get over 200 recipes in his book compared to 70 odd from Gok and just wanted the variety to start of with really. A week in and I'm so happy I went with this choice. The book has already opened my eyes as to just how easy, healthy and tasty traditional Chinese food is. My boyfriend actually commented that he prefers this food to high street Chinese takeaways. Having said that there are some of the takeaway favourites included in this book such as chow mein, Singapore noodles, sichuan duck and the best recipe for egg fried rice I've ever experienced.

I know some other reviewers have commented that Ken occasionally throws instructions into his recipes that are not then fully broken down. This has only occurred once to me and a simple search on google told me how to prepare the food - not rocket science really. Also there's a comprehensive section at the beginning of the book that explains a lot more about the history of Chinese food, ingredients and cooking methods if people bother to read that - definitely recommend it.

The only change I would wish is that every recipe came with a picture (over half do but by no means all). This is more just because I like perusing through the book when planning for meals and would appreciate more pictures but that's hardly a quibble when the food tastes so good regardless of pictures. Would definitely recommend this book for anyone that wants to begin a venture into Chinese cooking at home :)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2017
wonderful present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)