Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
78
4.1 out of 5 stars
I'll Walk Alone
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 10 November 2011
I'll Walk Alone repeats the successful formula of n other books by Mary Higgins Clark. The reader knows exactly what to expect - the protagonist is a decent young woman suffering some ordeal that is outside her control; various male characters are involved, one of whom will probably end up being the villain and another of whom will probably end up marrying her; and there's a dash of suspense, but nothing too explicit, in resolving the mystery.

I'll Walk Alone is about an interior designer, Zan (Alexandra) Moreland, whose young child disappeared from a New York park two years ago, never to be found. Zan has attempted to put her life back together, but although she makes ends meet she remains traumatised. The framework for the action here is two-fold: Zan is behaving strangely (for example, confessing to a priest that she is aware of a murder that is about to be committed); and some startling new evidence is revealed indicating she may have kidnapped her own child.

Events unfold from the perspective of several characters, two of whom are Alivirah and Willie Meehan, who will be familiar from previous novels as Alvirah, a cleaning lady, won millions of dollars in the state lottery and is now an amateur detective and columnist for a New York newspaper. It is in this latter guise that she has become friends with Zan, trying to support the fragile young woman as she tries to re-establish her career. However, even Alvirah begins to doubt Zan's sanity as the evidence implicating her in her son's disappearance seems overwhelming.

This is a book that one must simply take on its own terms. It carries the reader along in its engaging, confiding style. However, there are many coincidences and plot holes that really don't bear any scrutiny. If one is going to enjoy the novel, one is going to have to leave one's critical faculties at the door. There is also rather a lot left unexplained at the end about what's been going on for the past two years and why, not least in the motivation of one person, who seems particularly dopey when it comes to being threatened and manipulated, and seems never to have heard of covering oneself by lodging an account of events with a lawyer or bank. Yet despite these flaws, reading this undemanding book passed the time pleasantly enough on a Saturday while suffering from a cold.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 26 February 2015
Mary Higgins Clark one of my favourite authors.

This book had me totally gripped, right from page one.

Mary Higgins Clark's characters are completely believable. Each chapter is only four or five pages long and typically focus on one character in the book.

In I'll Walk Alone, Alexandra "Zan" Moreland, a gifted, beautiful interior designer on the threshold of a successful Manhattan career, is terrified to discover that somebody is not only using her credit cards and manipulating her financial accounts to bankrupt her and destroy her reputation, but may also be impersonating her in a scheme that may involve the much more brutal crimes of kidnapping and murder.

All of the characters are superb and as expected from the `Queen of Suspense' there are numerous chills, thrills, twists and turns to keep you page turning into the small wee hours.

The author has the ability to create such wondrous delight in reading disturbingly shocking episodes that you are left addicted and begging for more.

`I'll Walk Alone' will not fail to keep you up all night thinking and worrying whether it really could happen ... to you, just like it does in the book. I can't tell you too much, I'll ruin the element of surprise.

A great read which leaves you with that slight apprehensive feeling which her books have a tendency to do.

Certain that this novel will give plenty to think about (without giving the game away ... it involves identity theft, murder and suspense and worryingly it is most certainly possible!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
It would have been great but the dog ate it. Will have to reorder so I can actually finish reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Not as good as older books very disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
Many of Ms Higgins Clark's books were stimulating, scary and intelligent. However, this one, I'll Walk Alone, lacks her earlier power; it is actually not an interesting book. Don 't buy this one, but start reading her earliar books.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 July 2011
My Queen of Comfort Reads has done it again - I can always rely on Mrs Higgins Clark to whisk me away to somewhere on the US east coast (NYC in this case) and allow me to escape for a few hours with plots to solve and baddies to catch.

Alexandra (Zan) Moreland is in turmoil on what would have been the 5th birthday of her son Matthew who was kidnapped two years ago in broad daylight while out with his babysitter in Central Park. Despite no trace of Matthew ever being found, Zan has still not been able to give up hope that he is still alive somewhere. But just when she thinks things can't get any worse, a photo appears in the paper that appears to show her scatching her own child from his pushchair in the park. Not only that but purchases are being made from Zan's personal and business account for things she knows she didn't order.....or did she? As Zan starts to doubt her own sanity, someone is clearly at work attempting to destroy her. But why?

Although I thoroughly enjoyed this book (as always) I didn't find it one of her best. I think more could have been made of putting Zan in some danger as it was really all done remotely and even though Zan sometimes doubts her own sanity, we the reader are left in no doubt that it is not her who is doing this but someone else. I also had an inkling early on as to who the perp might be and I was right but to be honest I couldn't quite fathom out why they would go to such extreme lengths to destroy Zan (by taking her child): the reason didn't seem quite right to me.

Verdict: Another pacey thriller and fans of Higgins Clark will love this. If you haven't read any of her other books yet then I demand that you do! Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
I have read Mary Higgins Clark in the past and enjoyed her books as light, undemanding reads. You pretty much know that you'll get the same sort of thing every time - heroine being threatened in some way; nasty man she may think is trustworthy; nice man she ends up with. This book follows the pattern, with a guessable villain and hero. But from the start it reads like the output of someone who has been to some sort of writing class where they are advised that the information on characters should come out in the dialogue or the characters' thoughts, resulting in the worst dialogue and thoughts I think I have ever come across in a book. It really is badly written. We have an omniscient narrator who is able to get into the heads of all the characters, and they all run through their backgrounds in the most stilted and forced way. An example from near the beginning: "I kept putting off going to see Mom and Dad who were living in Rome, Zan thought...". It's all like that. I seriously considered chucking the book away well before I was a quarter of the way through, but I persevered. Luckily it didn't take too long, but it will be a long time before I pick up another of this author's books. (On the positive side, the plot wasn't too bad, but the writing style intruded too much to make it enjoyable.)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
Another excellent tale from Mary Higgins Clark guaranteed to keep you guessing until the very end. Once you have read or heard this one you will want to catch up with her extensive book list. Hope there are plenty more to come.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 20 May 2011
"I lie awake,
And am like a sparrow alone on the housetop." -- Psalm 102:7 (NKJV)

The book's jacket copy is an artful and unusually good introduction to this book. I couldn't do nearly as well. Read it.

What if someone tried to destroy your life by framing you for a horrible crime that you didn't commit, a crime that would cause everyone to detest you? If you already felt guilty for having made mistakes, no doubt the accusations would be devastating. That's the basis of the suspense and the sympathy that most readers will feel for Alexandra "Zan" Moreland, the book's heroine, whose son was kidnapped two years earlier than the book's beginning.

Two of the strengths of this book are that the pacing is relatively fast and involving a large number of narrators allows for quick splices of perspective that keep the story from dragging as the suspense builds. I know how hard it is to write a novel that's relatively strong in both dimensions, and admired the skill displayed.

One of the book's weaknesses is that it's much too easy to figure out who the villain is.

Another serious weakness is that a number of the minor characters aren't developed enough to make them fully understandable and interesting. Having the characters was necessary for the plot to work, but you won't be engaged by them.

There's also a missed opportunity to put the heroine into more personal peril . . . rather than great anguish. I recently listened to a narration of Cara Black's Murder in the Palais Royal, which also deals with a frame-up and the physical threats in that book made the story much more lively and exciting.

So what's the right star rating? I think it's about 3.5 . . . and I rounded up.

Guard your identity!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
You may also read my review here: [...]

Having been a LOOOOOONG time fan of Mary Higgins Clark, I bought her new book without even reading the synopsis (actually still hadn't until I was doing this blog entry). It was a pleasant surprise to see that Alvirah Meehan, a recurring character in Mary Higgins Clark's books - whose debut was in Weep No More, My Lady but more famously, The Lottery Winner - was also a character. However, unlike most of the 'Alvirah and Willy' books, she wasn't a MAIN character and I was okay with that as she tends to be a bit over the top.

In typical Mary Higgins Clark fashion, this book kicked off with a bang and kept going with each and every turn of the page. Immediately, as with all 'who-done-it' books, you pick the most odvious of characters and the 'bad' guy but her writing style nevers lets you rest on that... maybe is becomes predictable that your first guess is rarely right but she has been known to throw enough curveballs in that you just never know. Switching from one 'bad' guy to another, wondering if she did it or didn't do it, really made this book a page-turner!

As a parent, if I had read the synopsis of this book, I would have been concerned about the whole kidnap and murder plot as I don't really like reading about young kids in distress (to close to home) so I was happy that the murder ...

... SPOILER ...

...wasn't of her child. In fact, it was nice to see/hear from Matthew a few times throughout the novel. (breathing sigh of relief)

... END SPOILER ...

Overall, another must-read by the queen of suspense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Lost Years
£6.98
No Place Like Home
£17.99

Need customer service? Click here