Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 18 August 2017
I was never a big Joy Division fan, despite being in the same age group, until watching the Control film kindled my interest in the band and their story. . PH is one of those people whose honesty and confidence seems to stem from a flatly realistic assessment of his own and others' talents and personal traits. He doesn't try to sculpt a favourable impression of himself or anyone else through his version of events and that makes him the ideal teller of the band's story. I got this for 99p but before I'd finished I bought his book Substance as I wanted to read more of the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2017
A genuine insight, warts and all, to the characters, dynamics and creative processes of this ground-breaking band. Hooky's writing style is honest, informative and frequently amusing providing the kind of insight - especially into the group songwriting process - that is usually absent from other musicIan/band histories.
He never hides his negative points, but nonetheless comes across as a thoroughly likeable bloke. The tension he describes with his once best friend Barney has made me get his book too in order to build up a complete picture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2017
I didn't have great hopes for this book when I started it but it turned out to be very hard to put down. Maybe because I'm struggling with some sort of viral bug which is making it hard to concentrate, the non-intellectual tone has been ideal. A quick read then, but interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 July 2017
A much better book than I expected, way less a cash in quickly thrown together, but actually a week wired personal insight into the early years of the band from His perspective, I've also read and enjoyed the hacienda book, and looking forward to reading the third
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2017
What a great read.Hooky is a natural story teller. Everything you could and should know about being in a band.
Just like his great unique bass lines this book nails it without bull crap.
A total blast to read for any 'Joy Division ' fan.
It's worth 6 stars ******
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2017
Excellent ,very funny and a very human insight into a band that started me on a ten year stint in an overcoat. You can hear Hooky's voice in the stories he tells. Had me re visiting the albums with a new understanding and appreciation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
Peter Hook not just an amazing musician, he can also write. Great read from key member of a very important band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2017
Well written and pretty honest account of Joy Division. Asks "could we have done more". Probably is his answer - sadly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2017
Hooky is one of the main reasons that i'm a bassist... there, i said it!
anyway, not only is this book a no-bullshit look at a beloved band, but it's a wonderful insight into Hooky's process and world view... i really can't recommend it enough... thanks man!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2017
Once you get used to peter hooks writing style , it's a very good insight into this group
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)