Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2012
I want to preface my comments by saying that I think Frank Herbert's original Dune works are the best science fiction ever written. He was able to write political and psychological thrillers while he simultaneously created cultures and worlds as he told his stories. No wasted words, no wasted effort - absolutely masterful writing. His characters were fascinating, captivating, strong personalities with gripping ambitions, hopes and fears. As you read you were pulled into their personalities and experienced the stories through them.

Sadly this book reads like little more than an expository piece of backstory doing nothing more than telling and explaining. The characters read like cardboard cutout characters as their motivations and histories are explained, described, redescribed and retold repeatedly page after page. There is little life in the characters or their worlds other than what was so powerfully written by Frank Herbert in his original books. The characters are lifeless, flat, dull and boring and in short order I noticed I didn't care about them or what happened to them. Don't expect anything even remotely like the original books. I wanted to hear more of Frank's storytelling but you won't find any of it here.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
Having been engrossed for years by Franks work, and then enjoying Brian's follow up (especially with the thinking machine wars) I have to say that this book has lost a little something. The continual need to summarise over and over again at the commencement of a chapter storylines from the book you have only just read in the previous chapters, has had me almost tossing it in the bin. The plot and storyline could be so good but the execution is dreadful....I cannot believe anyone with the Herbert bloodline could have written this or supported such poor writing of what could/should be one of the best tales ever leading up to the Birth of Paul!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Rubbish. Couldn't get more than a couple of chapters in to it.
Also had to force my way through the pre-Dune stuff by Kevin. Just doesn't really do what it says on the tin. Just common or garden sci-fi novels that would have been okay on their own but suffer from comparison with Dune.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
I love the series but I hate the way these two are bending the Dune universe over and shafting it repeatedly. There was an entire story thread that was unnecessary and rather than using it, they just killed it off. Not the seller's fault, it's the authors.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2016
This was relatively gripping stuff and I felt a connection with most of the characters which the author instills empathy and anger accordingly and with great finesse. Definitely one to read whether long term fan or a new to the Dune saga
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
A very readable and good piece of the jigsaw that helps to construct the "known universe" prior to Frank Herbert's original Dune series. It is admirable as it is a difficult project done to a high degree of fidelity to Herbert senior's vision and ideas. What is missing from Herbert Junior and Anderson's Dune prequels are the insights into characters' psyche and inner thoughts, which were a forte of Herbert senior's Dune series. However, a recommended reading to those who want to expand on the universe of Dune, originally envisaged and articulated by Frank herbert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
Sisterhood of Dune is a novel of multi-level complexity and yet is simplistic enough in it's vision of an as yet untold history within the Dune universe.

I really liked the focus on the story, following a number of decades after the Butlerian Jihad, where humanity rose up and threw off the long years of Machine rule.

But as one power vacuum is removed, another takes its place in the form of the Butlerian movement and their unending quest to destroy technology at any cost (the paradox being that they don't mind using technology when it suits them, thereby travelling in starships, going from world to world to continue their crusade).

I also liked the varying viewpoints from different characters and ideologies, and also the true birth of the Sisterhood and the planting of the first seeds that leads to its own desire to control humanity through genetic selection (a goal similar in many aspects to the Butlerian cause).

With various factions now turning against the Butlerian movement, the following two books look to be leading to something quite spectacular, and the return of a powerful force, but this time controlled by humans.

Well worth reading if you like the Dune universe.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
As an avid reader of Dune books, I was really looking forward to this new addition to the saga. I loved it and yet, I have a feeling of frustration. Frustration at the "speed" given in this book, you know roughly where it's headed, and it takes an agonising time to get there ... or doesn't, probably left for the next book.
As always, you have characters you just love, some you like to hate (manford would deserve to be changed into a cymek!!)

A lot of people complain that it's not as well written as Frank Herbert's original books. Well, it's not Frank Herbert, it's his son and Kevin J Anderson who both have their own style, like it or not.

My only concern with this kindle version is the number of mistakes in it. I mean that there is an awful lot of word missing (sentences without verb mostly)

All in all, I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the next one. Hopefully we won't have to wait too long.
I would definitely recommend it.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
For all you Dune fans out there this is a must. Had me gripped from beginning to end. Some interesting twists and only one downside - I can't wait for the next one!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
This title is one of the slightly better ones in the BH/KJA range of Dune books. The best part is where the Sisterhood are dealt with; the other factions are bland. As one other author has remarked, the modern efforts do not have the characterisation and originality of the original works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse