Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 2 September 2013
This is an excellent book, full of detail of the man and his work. It also gives a good insight into the life and times of the region where he grew up and worked. It is not a monotonous group of pictures but a serious comment about the social climate of the Industrial times
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Based on the Tate showing of Lowry 2013 this is a sumptuously gorgeous book - a must own for every Lowry fan. The professorial essays lend authority to the paintings and to Lowry's life introducing engaging and enlightening perspectives that I never knew or didn't realise. It is a joy to read from start to finish and the plates are a stunning memory of the show. Curl up and give yourself a real Lowry treat and I guarantee you will feel enriched for having read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
A must for visitors to this wonderful exhibition at the Tate. I think he is an important British artist, showing the culture of our country and at last given an important
exhibition to show his work at its best. Well written and the contents give us a
catalogue of plates and list of works. Another addition to for the History of Arts books!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2016
Enjoyed the exhibition in London so wanted the accompanying book. Some of the plates do not seem of a fantastic quality, but all in all, a great book on Lowry with 100 works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
I bought this after visiting the Lowry Gallery in Salford. I have always loved his work and wanted to know more. A good concise book with good plates of his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
An excellent portrayal of Lowry, his background and life and, most importantly, his works. Read before visiting his exhibition at Tate Britain this year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
IT DID SEEM A LONG DELIVERY TIME, BUT, THE WAITING WAS WORTH IT, IT'S A FANTASTIC BOOK AND ANY LOWERY FAN WOULD LOVE TO OWN IT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
Excellent book showing a great deal of Lowry's painting. I bought it for a friend's birthday and he was delighted with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
I enjoyed leafing through the various Lowry paintings. I have liked Lowry's work since they were called Matchstick Men and Matchstick Cats & Dogs! A very well produced book and something to look at again and again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
This was a present for my wife who loved the book and was extremely happy with it and the many pictures it contained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)