Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2014
Paid full price for this because it looked so good in the bookshop. Firstly this has the best recipe for Seitan of any of my Vegan cookbooks, the texture's not quite meat but it hasn't the horrid squishiness of those that shortcut using vital wheat gluten and chickpea flour, this is actually enjoyable, the Goulash is fantastic, as are the Macedonian Baked Beans and the Green Lentil Loaf, You know when you like the basic flavours on offer that you'll enjoy the rest, which sadly can't be said of a lot of American recipes, they just don't sit right with my British taste buds - these recipes do and the book is offering a good range to master so being Vegan is actually feasible even in a mixed diet household - just fry some chicken legs for the inveterate carnivore and they'll happily lap up the dish.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Expected a few more basic foundation recipes in view of the title, but the recipes in this book are simple and easy, and I like the meals I've made from it so far. Earns it's place in my kitchen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
I really like the books by this author and this one is no exception. The Vegan Pantry is a recipe book that does not require the reader to have the skills of a three stars chef as the recipes are totally feasible and easy to make. I really like the mix of vegan, macrobiotic and raw food techniques that was adopted by the author (no dehydrator required). The recipes are really easy to make and very tasty.

The book is divided in the following sections: the vegan pantry (no crazy ingredients, you can easily find most of them at the local supermarket and some of them at places like Whole Foods), breakfast, main courses, snacks, salads (not the usual boring ones!), sauces and desserts. The book contains innovative recipes and not the "re-jiggled" same old same old.

Beautiful pictures too! Highly recommended to vegans, vegetarians and to those that want to incorporate more vegetables and fruit in their diet without spending 5 hours in the kitchen to cook a recipe.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
I've only made a couple of dishes from it as the ingredients are quite hard to find. The recipe for vegetable patties was a disaster as there's nothing to bind them together and they completely fell apart. Rather disappointed
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Excellent book with excellent recipes and proper measurements. Had previously borrowed from the library - renewed multiple times - prior to purchase. Would recommend to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
Got this for my daughter who is a Vegan and she loves the book and has enjoyed experimenting with receipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
Nice recipes and the book is beautiful, but I was disappointed that there are only ten main meal recipes!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Great book, really pleased with this. Beautifully presented, and lovely recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
I bought it as a present, really nice book !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2016
Amazing recipes, excellent book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)