Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2015
I've read many decoration books (especially on eclectism), and had doubts when buying this book as I feared whether it'd be too old school for my taste. How wrong was I! The writer has a beautiful way of writing, bringing the entire book to life, pages adorned with lovely eclectic English interiors that I can make work in my own home too. The book is also different from others, in the sense of it doesn't keep saying "do this, don't do this". Instead, it chooses to take you through beautiful English room examples which speak for themselves.

I loved it so much, I know about as a gift for an architect friend. 5 stars from me!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
I've known about Ben Pentreath for quite some time, his shop and his blog. I was delighted to browse my amazon and find a book written by him! The book arrived well packaged and delivered before the date expected! What a beautiful book! The cover is only an indication of the secrets of English style that lie beneath the covers. It is filled with beautiful photographs of grand and simple homes all with interiors that have not had the hand of an interior designer touch them. There is plenty of text at the beginning and during the different sections of the book; Introduction, English Decoration, A Sense of Arrival, Comfortable Rooms, Eating and Cooking, A Quiet Retreat, Rooms of Utility, Rooms of Display and Afterword. There is a style directory at the back of the book listing resources for wallpaper to antiques and pictures. I haven't put it down since it arrived! It's a how to book, but it's also just a beautiful, readable coffee table book!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
A wonderful book full of beautiful photographs of proper stylish English home interiors.
The eclectic mix of styles is a personal and fresh approach when compared to so many interior books that are styled and unreal. I love it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
I love this book. While I am not a great fan of "English style" in decoration, Ben Pentreath writes so well and is so passionate about his subject, that the book sings. Great images and excellent text. A lovely book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
An electric mix of interior styles with many of the featured rooms being very individual and with plenty to inspire. Some great lived-in schemes. Not an interior design book full of overly coordinated rooms, rather the opposite.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
This book was a real treat.
The thing I enjoyed most was the lovely warm, insightful, elegant text which really enlivened the beautiful photography. Ben Pentreath comes over as a sensitive, spiritual and thoughtful person.

I highly reccommend this lovely tome.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
I am addicted to Ben Pentreath's blog, which is beautifully written and photographed, and updated every few days. I love his shop in Bloomsbury, with its ever-changing and joyously displayed stock. His interior decorating style - minimal structural alteration, the restoration of period detail, and an eclectic and unpretentious layering of modern, retro, vintage and antique furnishings and artwork - is gorgeous, comfortable and practical. I want his country parsonage, his London flat, and his garden. In fact, I want to live his life.

I had hoped this book would introduce me to Ben's wider design portfolio, but unfortunately I was really disappointed. It contains only images that are already available on his blog, or duplicated in other interiors books, notably Farrow & Ball's bestseller 'Living with Colour'. (Property porners will even recognise one house as a long-term listing on Rightmove, yours for a mere £3m). Moreover, the pictures are actually less appealing than they appear on screen. Looking over the blog on an iPad brings Ben's use of vibrant colour and contrasting textures to life; here it's evident printing technology is now a poor second to pixel perfection.

'English Decoration' was a present from Father Christmas and so naturally I'm very grateful. But those of you contemplating purchasing for yourselves: why would you pay for something you can read for free on the internet? I'm still happily buying books, but it's time publishers realised that we readers expect original content, not just screenprints in hard covers.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
This book is well written and the photographs are scrumptious. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in interior design, or who just wants ideas for their own home.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
This is the book that's helped me figure out what my style was. I have a husband with very firm ideas about how he wanted our house to look, while I knew what I didn't like, without quite being able to say what I did like. Needless to say the house entirely reflects his tastes. Some which I like, some less. Thanks to this book, I now have a portfolio ready for whenever we move to another house we need to do up. I am ready for comfrontation!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
I could almost see on the cover that this would be a book just after my taste.
The book draws on the best from Hicks, Mlinaric, Colefax and Fowler, but Ben
as does Robert Kime do their style with a modern unfussy touch. I just love
the book - visit his blog too - inspiration all over. Next time I'm in London
his shop is a must see!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)