Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
95
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2015
I searched online for a Tagine cooking book. The reviews on this one came up trumps, so I ordered it. The other buyer reviews didn't let me down. I love this book. Simple, easy and absolutely delicious recipes! A must buy for anyone wanting to experiment with Moroccan cooking :P
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
A Present, and have enjoyed the food cooked from the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Started using it straight away, have tried several of the recipes. Interesting book, tasty recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
I bought this book as a present for my son as he has a Tagine. He uses it a lot and has cooked lots of recipes from it. The recipes are easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 11 March 2013
I found this book to be a very good introduction for me to tagine and other Moroccan cooking. It is very well laid out, the photography is excellent and there are plenty of good recipes to keep you interested. There are a number of fairly simple recipes and an introductory chapter covering items needed for other recipes in the book like preserved lemons and harissa paste, but there are plenty of recipes with far from obvious combinations of spices, seeds and other ingredients that work very well. I've attempted six of the meat recipes and all worked well, so I'm sure I'll be attempting several of the others.

Meat lovers may find that the proportion of meat recipes is a little low, and there are possibly too many "sweet things and drinks" but overall this is a good book.

The contents page looks like this:

the secrets of tagines 6
traditional lamb tagines 20
beef, kefta and sausage tagines 38
chicken and duck tagines 52
fish and seafood tagines 68
vegetable tagines 82
couscous dishes 100
skewers, roasts and pan fries 114
vegetable side dishes 144
salads 164
soups and small bites 188
sweet things and drinks 206
index 236
credits 240

The full list of recipes:

preserved lemons
smen (aged butter)
harissa paste
ras-el-hanout
lamb tagine with prunes, apricots and honey
lamb tagine with dates, almonds and pistachios
lamb tagine with shallots and dates
baked lamb tagine with quinces, figs and honey
lamb tagine with chestnuts, saffron and pomegranate seeds
tfaia tagine with onions, browned almonds and eggs
tagine of lamb and vegetables with mint
lamb k'dra with sweet potatoes and okra
beef tagine with oranges
beef tagine with sweet potatoes, peas, ginger and ras-el-hanout
kefta tagine with eggs and roasted cumin
spicy kefta tagine with lemon
chickpea and chorizo tagine with bay leaves, paprika and sage
chorizo tagine with lentils and fenugreek
chicken tagine with preserved lemons, green olives and thyme
chicken tagine with harissa, artichokes and green grapes
spicy chicken tagine with apricots, rosemary and ginger
chicken k'dra with chickpeas, raisins and red peppers
chicken k'dra with turnips and chickpeas
tagine of duck breasts with dates, honey and orange flower water
duck tagine with pears and cinnamon
fish tagine with preserved lemon and mint
tagine of monkfish, potatoes, cherry tomatoes and black olives
Moroccan fish tagine
oven-baked tagine of red mullet, tomatoes and lime
seafood tagine with saffron, ginger and fennel
creamy shellfish tagine with fennel and harissa
tagine of butternut squash, shallots, sultanas and almonds
tagine of artichokes, potatoes and peas
tagine of yam, shallots, carrots and prunes
tagine of beans, cherry tomatoes and black olives
tagine of baby aubergines with fresh herbs
spicy carrot and chickpea tagine with turmeric
baked vegetable tagine with preserved lemon
three-pepper tagine with eggs
plain buttery couscous
green couscous with a spring broth
lemon couscous with roasted vegetables
fish and shellfish k'dra with couscous
couscous tfaia with beef
kefta skewers with harissa couscous
souk skewers with roasted cumin and paprika
harissa chicken wings with oranges and preserved lemon
monkfish skewers with chermoula
spicy pan-grilled aubergine with honey
roasted smen-coated lamb with honey mechoui
roast chicken stuffed with couscous, apricots and dates
grilled sardine sandwiches stuffed with chermoula
pan-fried snapper with harissa and olive sauce
pan-fried seafood with ginger, cumin and paprika
baked trout stuffed with dates
char-grilled dates with kumquats
char-grilled harissa chicken
roast duck with honey, pears and figs
baked aubergines
Casablancan stuffed tomatoes
spicy tomato omelette
sautéed spinach with orange and almonds
braised vegetables with aniseed
honey-glazed pumpkin with spices
Moroccan ratatouille with dates
aubergine slices in spiced honey
roasted flat mushrooms with spiced squash stuffing
spicy vegetable salad
roast chicken and minted tabbouleh salad
orange and radish salad with green olives
preserved lemon and tomato salad with capers
roasted pepper with goat cheese, onion and parsley
roasted courgette and apple salad with oranges
green olive salad with bitter orange peel
chickpea salad with onions and paprika
mixed salad pickles
pear and chicory salad with rose petals
watermelon salad with rosewater and lemon balm
rustic tomato and vegetable soup with ras-el-hanout
classic lamb, chickpea and lentil soup with cumin
fish soup with lemon and harissa
harrira
mini fish kefta with saffron
savoury pastries filled with spicy meat
pastry triangles filled with tuna and egg
baked pastries with seafood
prunes stuffed with walnuts in spiced orange syrup
gazelle's horns
classic 'snake' pastry with almond filling
semolina pancakes with honey
rose-flavoured milk pudding
candied aubergines
fresh figs with walnuts and honey
yogurt and pistachio cake
honeyed couscous with fresh figs and rosewater cream
date, pistachio and coconut truffles
fluffy pistachio nougat
mint tea
almond milk
orange blossom cocktail

(the book doesn't use capital letters in recipe titles except for proper nouns)
11 Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
Had been given a tagine and wanted a proper recipe book for it. Recipes in the book are more varied than those I find in magazines or in the instructions, and so far have all been successful. Recommended.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
The recipes are so easy to follow and they taste fantastic.

Al Fes sauces are a bit expensive so get 6 bottles for an easier meal.
there is a shortage of outlets, and they wont mix the bottles!

Otherwise the Book does what it says, it will teach you step by step what to do and how to do it correctly, I was surprised by the tenderness of the cooked lamb, in lamb tagine i became addicted, so this week its beef, next week its gotta be chicken !/4 qtrs

William - Merseyside
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Help I had a tagine for Christmas agh! Now what do I do with it? This book great easy to follow recipes and now I can use my tagine and it has lots of useful tips
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
My friend cooked some dishes from this while we were on holiday. They were so fabulous I just had to get back and buy the book. All the recipes are easy to follow, ingredients widely available, and results are perfect every time. Would also appeal to vegetarians are there are numerous recipes, but even the fish or meat ones could be adapted. Good for coeliac a too as any recipe that uses couscous can be adapted by using rice instead. I particularly make the Harissa rice rather than couscous.....my coeliac vegetarian daughter is looking forward to her next visit. Oh yes....the spiced honey aubergine are a must as well as the keftas .... I could go on! Just buy the book.....you won't be disappointed :)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
I chose this book because it is very easy to follow
and has
lovely tastey recipes
would recommend to a friend
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)