Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
78
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2011
As a commercial baker I have bought most of the books about baking, going right back to the 1970s classics such as the Sunday Times Book of Real Bread and Elizabeth David's English Bread and Yeast Cookery. I have to declare that Emmanuel was head of production at Judges Bakery in Hastings, our business which we started with him. So we already knew he was a master at making perfect bread. This book is brilliant - the photographs ensure that you never get lost or end up wondering if what you have in front of you looks like it should - it holds your hand as it takes you step by step through the almost magical process where flour is transformed into a living dough and then into a wonderful loaf of bread. The patisserie recipes are excellent too - if you make the Napoleons I suggest a double batch - the first lot out of the oven will disappear into grateful mouths - they are the best Danish pastry type recipe I've ever tried
Craig Sams
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
I can believe that every recipe here has been tried and tested. I have gone through about a dozen of the recipes and the breads come out pretty much perfect.There was only one I was not 100% happy with so far - the croissant recipe, which does not use any milk at all, but that's a very minuscule point. I've used other croissant recipes that use milk (50%) in the dough and seem to give a better texture. I own several bread-making books and would rate this one 5/5. If you are learning to make bread without going on a course, I think this book is probably the best one for several reasons: very clear instructions; good photos that show many of the steps; simple technique (stretch and fold); extensive range of recipes. If you follow the instructions to the letter, you can't go wrong. I like Hadjiandreou's approach for sourdough - keeping a very small quantity of starter and making a sort of a poolish (maybe not technically the correct term) from this; a much more economical and practical approach than the large quantity starters, which involves throwing away "half" each time the starter is refreshed. The bread-making technique he teaches is essentially "stretch and fold" so no energetic kneading required ( c.f. Bertinet or Hollywood). Instructions are very precise and easy to follow. Incidentally, I own a other bread-making books which I would rate as: RB's Dough - 4/5; PH'S Bread - 3/5; PR's Bread Maker's Apprentice - 4/5.
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
The book is excellent as stated in several of the reviews. However, there are some mistakes and it would be really helpful if the author/publisher would make an official errata available. Ironically, the "cover bread" is one of those that will never get right if prepared according to the recipe provided in the book. You will not be disappointed with the book, but do yourself a favor look for "How to make bread by Emmanuel Hadjiandreou: errata" on google for an unofficial errata, it might prevent some disappointments. For rye bread (such as the one in p. 70), don't be surprised if you need to nearly double the baking time suggested in order to avoid a getting a soggy loaf (30 min. is definitely not enough!).
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
Fantastic photos and descriptions that make you want to get in the kitchen and get started with baking immediately. As a German who loves nice photographs and wants to eat real bread this book easily gets 5 stars out of 5 from me. Have already tried the sourdoughs, which are great and now getting started on the sweet treats.

I have taken Emmanuel's course on Wild Yeast Baking at the Schol of Artisan Foods, which I can also highly recommend.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
I think a previous negative comment is because Emmanuel makes bread making so simple and you generally expect to do much more work to make your bread. Non of this wrist aching kneading for a solid 10 minutes. Clear easy simple to follow true pictures.

I know there are a few alterations to the text of the first print which does happen and if you get in touch with the author or the school of artisan food they will give you the alterations.

I am happily working my way through the book and have had success with every recipe so far.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
Beautifully looking book. I bought it as a present for a beginner. Not a good choice. It does not give clear enough instuctions for someone starting to make bread, (for example, the book refers to 'resting' the dough.....where...in the fridge....room temp....warm room. Is the dough expected to begin rising?. Also, there is no mention of whether the yeast, once mixed with the liquid,should be left for 10-15 mins.to start working as is normal in bread making. Perhaps thats not needed...but say so.
It's little things like that which have spoilt what could have been a great books with lots of bread varities to try.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
I ordered this book after doing a day's breadmaking course with Emmanuel Hadjiandreou at the School of Artisan Food.

Emmanuel is a great teacher, and this book reflects that as well as his obvious love of bread making. The recipes are detailed, with step-by-step instructions AND step-by-step photographs; and the range of breads covered is stunning - everything from basic white and wholemeal loaves through to sourdoughs, greek and jewish celebration breads, and croissants and pastries.

The look of the book is stunning also; really enticing photographs, very clear where they need to be and beautifully styled. And I defy anyone to turn to p 173 and not try to brush the flour off the page!

Highly recommended - can't wait to work my way through the whole book :-)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
A great, and large, selection of recipes, all beautifully illustrated.

Step by step pictures of what your dough should look like help inspire confidence, although, as with all photo sequences, some can be confusing, see plaiting bread, which probably needs a YouTube video or similar as stills leave you thinking "... which strand made that plait?"

MOST IMPORTANT OF ALL, this is a book for the home baker and the recipe quantities reflect that, not like some that want you to make industrial batches! It starts with all the basics and works up to quite elaborate breads. I have two loaves on the go as I write this which from experience will be marvellous. Treat yourself!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Bought this on the strength of the other reviews over other ‘bread’ books as my baking attempts have been hit and miss affairs. So why not get some insights from a pro? Glad I bought it as it’s a gem. Ignore the few pages that the ‘celebrity’ chefs place in there tomes of ‘knowledge’ and concentrate on this book instead. It’s great, easy to follow recipes and helpful hints and lots of room for making your bread a little individual. A great buy, you will not be disappointed. Worth more than a 5 star review.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
I HAD to leave a review, this is such a useful book - exactly what I was looking for! The recipes are clear and well labeled, there are step-by-step pictures of how to create attractive bread designs, and easy to follow complicated dough making techniques, and handy notes within the recipes (e.g. which ingredients you have freshly made can be frozen and/or how long they will keep for), with a short intro into bread history, and the different type of ingredients. Perfect for a novice like me!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)