Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2011
As a commercial baker I have bought most of the books about baking, going right back to the 1970s classics such as the Sunday Times Book of Real Bread and Elizabeth David's English Bread and Yeast Cookery. I have to declare that Emmanuel was head of production at Judges Bakery in Hastings, our business which we started with him. So we already knew he was a master at making perfect bread. This book is brilliant - the photographs ensure that you never get lost or end up wondering if what you have in front of you looks like it should - it holds your hand as it takes you step by step through the almost magical process where flour is transformed into a living dough and then into a wonderful loaf of bread. The patisserie recipes are excellent too - if you make the Napoleons I suggest a double batch - the first lot out of the oven will disappear into grateful mouths - they are the best Danish pastry type recipe I've ever tried
Craig Sams
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
This is an excellent book (as is the same author's How to make Sourdough). The step by step recipes are foolproof (in my experience at least) and deliver excellent bread in great variety. The large number of photographs of key techniques (kneading, shaping) are invaluable as are the photos of dough at various stages of the processes described. It would be a great purchase for an absolute beginner bread maker, but has much to offer more experienced bakes as well. The recipe for Armenian flatbreads alone is well worth purchase price!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2017
good precise and consistent information and easy to follow instructions. Well designed book and enough good photographs to accompany the steps involved. No irritating vague instructions which makes it a pleasure for bakers new to using sourdough techniques. Weights given for all recipes which takes the guesswork completely out of it. Superb
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
I can believe that every recipe here has been tried and tested. I have gone through about a dozen of the recipes and the breads come out pretty much perfect.There was only one I was not 100% happy with so far - the croissant recipe, which does not use any milk at all, but that's a very minuscule point. I've used other croissant recipes that use milk (50%) in the dough and seem to give a better texture. I own several bread-making books and would rate this one 5/5. If you are learning to make bread without going on a course, I think this book is probably the best one for several reasons: very clear instructions; good photos that show many of the steps; simple technique (stretch and fold); extensive range of recipes. If you follow the instructions to the letter, you can't go wrong. I like Hadjiandreou's approach for sourdough - keeping a very small quantity of starter and making a sort of a poolish (maybe not technically the correct term) from this; a much more economical and practical approach than the large quantity starters, which involves throwing away "half" each time the starter is refreshed. The bread-making technique he teaches is essentially "stretch and fold" so no energetic kneading required ( c.f. Bertinet or Hollywood). Instructions are very precise and easy to follow. Incidentally, I own a other bread-making books which I would rate as: RB's Dough - 4/5; PH'S Bread - 3/5; PR's Bread Maker's Apprentice - 4/5.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
was recommended this book as a "bread bible".. found the kneading (or no-kneading") method did not work for me.. Good useful recipes though. Recommend buying a few books, and taking a little from each one, and finding your own technique / method.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Great book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
good clear instructions
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Bought the book prior to attending his course in London..book contains some useful tips and backup material.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2017
Easy to follow instructions. Good variety of recipes. Very pleased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
good number of recipes for those new to bread making or those more experienced
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)