Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
26
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2012
Having been a WH40k for many years, I was sadly let down by this collection of stories. Most are either audio dramas that have been turned to print or stories that have already been printed in Hammer and Bolter etc....
However, I would recommend buying this for one story in particular, Prince of Crows, by Aaron Dembski-Bowden. Brilliantly written tale of the final battle of the Thramas crusade where the Lion and the Night Haunter clash and it's aftermath.
For those who do not follow WH40k in every format, then this collection makes sense as it combines various stories from different places into print.
44 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
This book is a great read, filling in parts of the Horus Heresy you may not have known before.
If you have some of the audio books then you may know 2 or 3 of the stories but the book is still worth the money for the other stories, plus it does leave a gap in the series if you don't have it. Good for the half hour reads such as lunch times or commuting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
Well, as others have already said, this anthology contains two 'new' novellas and five 'repeated' short stories that have already been released elsewhere (notably several on audio format). I don't personally have a huge issue with audio stories getting written up, however I do have problems with these particular stories; firstly that they are so old - most having originally being released FIVE YEARS AGO! In 2007. This makes the whole book feel very much like a backward step in the HH series to me, with stories stretching back to much earlier times than we are presently at - secondly the stories do not feel particularly interesting or important.

We get for example the death tale of a remembrancer attached to the Lunar Wolves, a story about the early 'life' of the Kaban Machine seen in Mechanicum, a story about Dorn brooding, Corax's escape from Isstvan (which is at least a bit more important) and a Curze story. None of them are poorly written, but all feel a bit 'meh' to me, I had listened to three of them before anyway. Most of all though, as I say, they feel like they are backward looking and not very important. Disappointing basically.

The first new novella, the story of the Imperial Fist Retribution Fleet being trapped in the Phall system and there battling traitor forces sent to destroy them, is 'okay', a three out of five story. It's adequately well written, while not being especially exciting, imaginative, or interesting. There are a couple of good scenes featuring Dorn and Sigismund (the first Black Templar) and it does tell the story of the Battle of Phall briskly and fairly well.

The second new novella, focussing upon the Night Lords fleeing from the Dark Angels, is by ADB, so is well written but it's really not that interesting a story. ADB has a habit of featuring wise-cracking Night Lord characters in his work and there's hints of that here, which I find a bit jarring considering the pitch-black nature of these guys. There is a peak into the psyche of Curze himself, which feels rather too Batman-esque for my taste, and a good scene showing the Emperor's arrival at Nostramo.

All in all, I'm docking one star for the inclusion of the late repeat stories (causing the anthology to feel a bit pointless), one for the fact the short stories are rather superfluous to the wider story of the Heresy, and one for the fact the new novellas didn't excite me. I must say I find the HH anthologies to be generally disappointing, there has to be thousands of potentially fascinating subjects about the setting during the Heresy that would really work well in short story format, while not suiting a full novel, yet we just seem to keep getting stories we already know told from slightly different angles. I wish BL would use these anthologies as a way of exploring the less travelled regions of the tale more.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Some very well put reviews already so only to say some of tis great and some of its poor. Particularly wondered the point of including the Silversmith story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
one of the best so far, excellent collection of short stories with hardly any duds., highly recommend for any sci fi or 40K readers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
7 stories for the price of one? Seems like a good deal until you realise that you already know 3 of them. I think it is a wee bit cheeky of BL to realease these on other formats prior to publication, however that does not detract too much from what is overall a rivetting read.

I would highlight Prince of Crows as the outstanding piece of work here. It is high time we knew more about Curze and the VIII legion. In particular Captain Sevetar is a fascinating character, i really warmed to his off hand manner and straight talking quips. I found lots to like about the Night Lords, they are definately a breed apart from other legions and I loved the undercurrent of beligerence a welcome change. These are spce marines who do not simply follow their Primarch without questions..........they are fiercely independant.

The Crimson Fist is interesting and ties up some loose ends regarding the Imperial Fists and we get further insight into the smouldering emnity between them and the Iron Warriors. We also get more on Perturabo....about time too!

This latest set of instalments in the HH is fascinating, compelling and really well worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Some good stories here, fillling in some gaps from other books, with some interesting ' things we didn't know' in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Product arrived on time and as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
Once again The Black Libary have pumped out another book of filler to keep its cash cow going. When the series first started it was for me something special, the writing on the first books was top class, and the fact it was covering such an important but barely covered period of 40K history an added bonus, however the early promise soon faded, now there are close to 20 books out in the series and personally I think about 8 of them are anywhere close to good, with the rest falling fron average to down right rubbish. This book is typical of were the series has gone, a collection of short stories, most are okay from a techincal point of view but by and large are a total waste of your time and money buying. In this case some of the stories have already been published (2 as audiobooks) the rest scratched together collections by authors with bigger projects to focus on who churn out a few thousand word story between working on the host of other books they are on. The result is stories that add nothing to the Heresy in general or the series story arches in particular. I'm particually frustrated at the treatment of the Night Lord, a primarch who's background begs for a serious author to come and get a full novel out of. Instead he appears in a few short stories painted as some sort of cut price one dimensional Batman without any of Batmans humanity or nobility. A sad waste of one of what should be one of the more radical primarchs.
The sad fact is i have lost all intrest and faith in the series yet like a junkie come back again and again dispite knowing this hit will not be anywhere near good enough. More fool me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2016
Great book excellent service as usual
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse