Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 1 September 2017
If you are this far into the series, do I need to say much about how awesome it is? If you are a fan of the universe, you will love the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2017
6th book in the series and a fantastic read, really recommend for those who are new to the Horus Heresy or who are fans of Warhammer 40K fiction in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2012
This has lots to endear it, although those readers wishing to find out what happens next in the Heresy will have to wait. Here we get a full history and examination of the Dark Angels Chapter and we are given an insight into the mind of The Lion, the enigmaticly named Primarch of this legion. What struck me the most was how similair the tales here are to Arthurian legends, if you are a fan of knightly quests and tales of honour and fortitude then this is right up your street.

We focus on two boys entering the order and the simmering rivalry that ends up defining their paths, we learn of the Dark Angels home world of Caliban and how this is a perfect proving ground for an Astartes Legion. This story is jammed pack full of heroic deeds and examines the motivating factors that shaped the Dark Angels.......a suitably surprising twist in the tale leaves us wondering where exactly their loyalty will ultimately fall.

The Dark Angels have quickly become my favourite Legion and i await their fate with baited breath.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2016
The events in this book are divided into two sections. One in the time before Caliban was absorbed back into the rest of mankind and the other takes place afterwards. The first have provided great insight into the medieval culture that was on Caliban expect that the Knights have power armour and pistols. The second have was off equal good story telling. Over all it is a solid prequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2013
Despite the title, this book has nothing at all to do with the Horus Heresy, sadly it appears to be on the cover only as a means to get sales. Having said that if you are interested in the back stories of the Primarchs and the legions then this is a worthy addition. Not the best written story but ok. I am giving it only 2 stars due to the misrepresentation, if not for this then it would be more like a 3 1/2.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2014
This was an interesting view of the formation and the early days of the Dark Angels, and their home world Caliban. I did enjoy it but not as much as other titles in the series.

If you are a Dark Angel fan or a real sucker for the early days fluff then this will be a good book for you to enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2014
For some reason some of the fan base hated it. As I have finished reading it I actually thought it o.k. And shows how they bring worlds back into the bussom of the Emperor.

As I have read all the HH in Black Library order so far. It's all been pretty good so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2015
Good Read, Though be Warned the majority of the book takes place on a per Imperial Caliban with not a lot of focus or information about the Dark Angels themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2017
Slightly prolonged introduction to the dark angels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse